The Newsletter101811 avr. 2023

La Lettre

Jean-Dominique Giuliani

11 April 2023

Europe has changed, Jean-Dominique Giuliani emphasises in the introduction to the "Schuman Report on Europe, the State of the Union 2023", to be published by Marie B. In under five years the European Union has acquired most of the tools it needed to develop an industrial policy, to organise solidarity in times of hardship and a strategy of autonomy in economic and health matters.

Read more

Front page!

Incentive or prohibition

10 April 2023

etudes.jpg
While the United States relies on science and industry to make a success of their ecological transformation, Europe favours rules and prohibitions. It must develop incentives if it intends to set a good example, writes Jean-Dominique Giuliani.

Read more

Commission

2022 Report on Competition Policy

7 April 2023

commission1.jpg
On 4 April, the Commission published its 2022 Report on Competition Policy, which details the most important policy and legislative initiatives of the year and the Commission's decisions under EU competition law.

Read more -another link

Facilitating the transfer of criminal proceedings between Member States

7 April 2023

On 5 April, the European Commission adopted a proposal for a regulation on the transfer of criminal proceedings between Member States. The increase in cross-border crime has led to a growing number of cases where several Member States have jurisdiction to prosecute the same case. This proposal will help prevent duplication of proceedings and avoid cases of impunity.

Read more

Diplomacy

Energy Council with the USA

7 April 2023

diplomatie.jpg
The tenth EU-US Energy Council met on 4 April in Brussels. Both sides stressed the importance of transatlantic coordination on strategic energy issues in the context of the war in Ukraine, and discussed efforts to reduce CO2 emissions.

Read more

Payment of €10 million to Moldova

7 April 2023

The Commission announced on 5 April the disbursement of €10 million of macro-financial assistance to Moldova. A further disbursement of €40 million will be made in early May to help the country meet its urgent financial requirements and to support macroeconomic stability and reforms.

Read more -another link

European Agencies

Dismantling of an online hacker market

7 April 2023

agences-eu.jpg
The European police agency Europol announced on 5 April that it had dismantled one of the world's most notorious hacker platforms, Genesis Market, which was used to sell stolen digital identities, including bank accounts and their logins. The operation involved 17 countries and 119 people were arrested.

Read more -another link

Airbus to double its production in China

7 April 2023

The European aircraft manufacturer, Airbus, signed on 6 April agreements with the Chinese aeronautics industry to increase the final assembly capacity of its A320 aircraft with a second line on its Tianjin site which should be operational by 2026.

Read more -another link

Germany

Olaf Scholz visits Romania

7 April 2023

allemagne.jpg
On 3 April, German Chancellor Olaf Scholz visited Romania to meet both Romanian President Klaus Iohannis and Moldovan President Maia Sandu. He reiterated Western support for a valuable NATO ally in supporting Ukraine and called for Romania's accession to the Schengen area. The visit came a day after German arms manufacturer Rheinmetall announced it was setting up a maintenance and logistics centre in northern Romania to service weapons used in Ukraine.

Read more -another link

Spain

Pedro Sanchez visits Cyprus, Malta and Italy

7 April 2023

espagne.jpg
On 4 April, the Spanish Prime Minister, Pedro Sanchez, met Cypriot President Nikos Christodoulides in Nicosia and Maltese Prime Minister Robert Abela in Valletta, with a view to preparing the Spanish Presidency of the Council in the second half of the year. He announced his intention to revive the dialogue for the reunification of Cyprus. He discussed with his counterparts European strategic autonomy, energy and food security, and the need to reform the European electricity market. On 5 April, he met his Italian counterpart, Georgia Meloni, with whom he discussed the war in Ukraine, the climate and migration.

Read more -another link -another link

Estonia

Kaja Kallas forms a new government coalition

10 April 2023

estonie.jpg
On 8 April, Estonian Prime Minister Kaja Kallas announced that she had reached an agreement with two other political parties to form a new coalition government that includes her Reform Party, the Centrist Estonia 200 Party and the Social Democratic Party.

Read more

Finland

Resignation of Sanna Marin's government

7 April 2023

finlande.jpg
Following her party's defeat in the parliamentary elections on 2 April, Finnish Prime Minister Sanna Marin submitted the resignation of her government to President Sauli Niinistö on 6 April. The government will remain in place to manage current affairs until a new coalition is formed. The day before, Ms Marin had announced that she would step down as the leader of the Social Democratic Party.

Read more

France

Military Programming Law

7 April 2023

france.jpg
Sébastien Lecornu, the French Minister of the Armed Forces, presented the 2024-2030 military programming bill (LPM) to the Council of Ministers on 4 April. With a budget of €413 billion, this LPM aims to transform the armed forces with a view to meeting new threats.

Read more -another link

State Visit to China

10 April 2023

French President Emmanuel Macron paid a state visit to China from 5 to 8 April, with the aim of engaging China in shared responsibility for peace and stability, strengthening the Franco-Chinese trade relationship, and re-engaging a common framework for action on major international issues such as the fight against climate change and the protection of biodiversity. On 6 April, he met Chinese President Xi Jinping together with Commission President Ursula von der Leyen. They asked China to act to help end the war in Ukraine and rebalance trade relations between China and the EU.

Read more -another link -another link

Lithuania

Restrictive measures against Russians and Belarusians

7 April 2023

lituanie.jpg
On 4 April, the Lithuanian parliament adopted additional restrictive measures aimed at safeguarding the country's national security interests. In particular, the text tightens the conditions for granting visas and residence permits to Russians and Belarusians, reinforces individual controls, and suspends the purchase of real estate on the territory by nationals of both countries.

Read more -another link

Czech Republic

Council of Czech-Slovakian Ministers

7 April 2023

republique-tcheque.jpg
On 3 April, the 8th Czech-Slovak Council of Ministers was held in Trencin, Slovakia. The Slovak and Czech Prime Ministers, Eduard Heger and Petr Fiala, reiterated the importance of harmony within the European Union and NATO to counter the Russian aggression in Ukraine and to make the sanctions against Russia more effective through mechanisms to prevent their circumvention. The Ministers discussed energy issues, European standards on carbon emissions, which could affect the automotive industry.

Read more -another link -another link

UK

Plan to simplify post-Brexit customs controls

7 April 2023

royaume-uni.jpg
On 5 April, the UK government unveiled a plan to simplify post-Brexit customs controls for goods coming from or going to the EU, while maintaining the security of the UK's borders. The reform includes an investment of more than £1 billion to improve customs technology, new "simplified and digitised" export health certificates, tailor-made checks for imported or exported goods and the creation of a one-stop shop.

Read more -another link

25th anniversary of the Good Friday Agreements

10 April 2023

On Good Friday, 10 April 1998, 25 years ago, Protestants and Catholics in Northern Ireland reached a historic peace agreement. US President Joe Biden is expected in Belfast on 11 April.

Read more -another link

Russia

Call for the release of journalist Evan Gershkovich

7 April 2023

russie.jpg
On 30 March, more than 30 media editors from around the world sent an open letter to the Russian ambassador to the United States condemning the detention of Evan Gershkovich, a Wall Street Journal journalist accused of espionage by Russia, and demanding his immediate release. On 3 April, 22 directors of major French media joined this initiative and sent an open letter to the Russian ambassador in France demanding the unconditional and immediate release of Evan Gershkovich.

Read more -another link

Ukraine

Volodymyr Zelensky's visit to Poland

7 April 2023

ukraine.jpg
Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky visited Poland on 5 April. In a speech, he thanked Poland for its solidarity. He signed a letter of intent with Prime Minister Mateusz Morawiecki for cooperation on the supply of defence equipment. He met with his Polish counterpart, Andrzej Duda, with whom he discussed the further strengthening of the Ukrainian army, the return of Ukrainian children illegally deported by Russia, Ukraine's membership of the European Union and its Euro-Atlantic integration.

Read more -another link -another link -another link

EU officials visit Kiev

7 April 2023

Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky met with German Vice-Chancellor Robert Habeck, UNESCO Director General Audrey Azoulay and Council of Europe Secretary General Marija Pejcinovic Buric on 3 April in the Chernihiv region. He thanked the German government for its solidarity. He discussed the need to include other Ukrainian cultural heritage sites in the Unesco list. He discussed the creation of a compensation mechanism in preparation for the next Council of Europe summit in Reykjavík.

Read more -another link -another link -another link -another link

Denmark confirms delivery of Leopard 1 tanks

11 April 2023

Acting Danish Defence Minister Troels Lund Poulsen confirmed on 10 April in Odessa during a briefing with his Ukrainian counterpart Oleksii Reznikov the delivery of Leopard 1 tanks to Ukraine before the summer.

Read more

NATO

Finland becomes the 31st member of the Alliance

7 April 2023

otan.jpg
On 4 April, Finland officially became the 31st member of the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation, following ratification by the other 30 Allies. Sweden, which applied for membership at the same time as Finland, is awaiting ratification by Hungary and Turkey.

Read more -another link

Meeting of Foreign Ministers

7 April 2023

NATO foreign ministers met on 4 and 5 April in Brussels. They discussed China's alignment with Russian positions and the risk of more concrete Chinese support in the Russian war in Ukraine, as well as the development of a multi-year strategic assistance programme for Ukraine.

Read more -another link

WTO

Progression of international trade

7 April 2023

omc.jpg
The World Trade Organisation said on 5 April that trade growth would slow to 1.7% in 2023 after rising to 2.7% in 2022, pointing to the effects of the war in Ukraine, high inflation, tighter monetary policy and uncertainty in financial markets.

Read more -another link

IMF

Switzerland's Economic Outlook

7 April 2023

fmi.jpg
The IMF published its economic outlook for Switzerland on 4 April. It notes that the Swiss economy is resilient. The IMF expects GDP growth to slow from 2.1% in 2022 to 0.8% in 2023 before recovering to 1.8% in 2024. Inflation is projected at 2.5% for 2023. Among its recommendations, the IMF believes that easing the labour market will be essential to contain inflation and prevent labour shortages from becoming a bottleneck for Switzerland's competitiveness.

Read more

Growth of the World Economy below 3% in 2023

7 April 2023

The world economy is expected to suffer one of the weakest periods of growth in recent decades and to be below 3% in 2023, the managing director of the International Monetary Fund (IMF), estimated Kristalina Georgieva during her speech launching the institution's spring meetings on 6 April.

Read more

Culture

Roni Horn in Santander

7 April 2023

culture.jpg
Until the 10th of September, the Centro Botin in Santander is holding an exhibition dedicated to Roni Horn, entitled "Hope paralyses me". It was designed by the artist himself, in accordance with the architecture of the museum and its location facing the bay, so as to produce a singular effect on the viewer. Through photographs, drawings and sculptures, the exhibition covers almost three decades of the artist's career.

Read more

Ramses and the Pharaohs' Gold

7 April 2023

Until 6 September, the Grande Halle de la Villette is presenting the exhibition 'Ramses and the Gold of the Pharaohs'. After Houston in the United States, France is the only country in Europe to host the exhibition and, above all, the only country to show the painted wooden coffin of Ramses II thanks to an unprecedented cooperation between France and Egypt. More than 180 original pieces (statues, jewels...), some of which have never been seen outside of Egypt, are presented in this exhibition, which plunges into more than three thousand years of history.

Read more -another link

Re-opening of the Ateneum Museum in Helsinki

7 April 2023

On 14 April, the Ateneum Museum in Helsinki will reopen. At the same time, the exhibition "A question of time" will be opened. For this occasion, the museum has decided not to present this exhibition in the traditional chronological way. Instead, "A Question of Time" presents four themes: the age of nature, images of a people, modern life and art and power. These themes cross different eras and are inspired by contemporary issues.

Read more

Helmut Newton in Milan

7 April 2023

Until 25 June, the Palazzo Reale in Milan, in collaboration with the Helmut Newton Foundation in Berlin, is hosting an exhibition devoted to Helmut Newton. 250 photographs, including some of the most emblematic of his work, trace the photographer's career. Unpublished photographs are also presented for the first time in Italy, offering the visitor the opportunity to discover an unknown aspect of Helmut Newton's career.

Read more -another link

David Cerny Museum in Prague

7 April 2023

Czech artist David Černý, known for his provocative works and collaboration with major developers, opened a museum, Musoleum, in Prague on 1 April. It is located opposite the MeetFactory art centre, which David Černý and his friends have been running for several years.

Read more

Caspar David Friedrich in Schweinfurt

7 April 2023

The Georg Schäfer Museum in Schweinfurt is hosting an exhibition on the painter Caspar David Friedrich and the heralds of Romanticism until 2 July. The exhibition focuses on the influence of 17th and 18th century painting on the birth and development of pictorial romanticism in the 19th century. It highlights the profound change in the Romantic painters' perception of nature.

Read more

Miriam Ella in Warsaw

7 April 2023

Until 11 June, the Centre for Contemporary Art in Warsaw is hosting the exhibition "The New Normal" by Miriam Elia. She explores the new "rules of the game" that were played out during the pandemic and the containment, she assesses the aftermath and the new world order that has followed.

Read more

Zurich Contemporary Art Fair

7 April 2023

From 14 to 16 April, the international contemporary art fair art3f will be held in Zurich. All the more reason to discover art with your family.

Read more

Exhibition "Picasso 1969-1972: la fin du début" in Antibes

7 April 2023

Until 2 July, the Picasso Museum in Antibes, with the support of the Picasso Museum in Paris, is devoting an exhibition to Pablo Picasso on the occasion of the fiftieth anniversary of his death. The exhibition gives the visitor the opportunity to discover the wealth of the artist's work towards the end of his career.

Read more

Ai Weiwei in London

7 April 2023

The Design Museum in London is hosting an exhibition dedicated to the Chinese artist and dissident Ai Weiwei until 30 July. This exhibition will be the first to present his work as a commentary on design. Many works will be on display for the first time, which question the meaning given to objects, what they say about history, particularly that of China, the country Ai Weiwei was forced to leave in 2015.

Read more -another link

Agenda

les 11-12 April

State Visit by the French President (Netherlands)


les 17-20 April 2023

Plenary Session of the European Parliament (Strasbourg)


les 18-19 April 2023

Informal Meeting of Environment Ministers (Stockholm)


Newsletter Archives

The Defence of Europe by Europeans: a myth, a necessity, an ambition, a hope?

The BRICS, a geopolitical challenge overlooked by the European Union

Ukraine's European Aspirations

The German 'Schuldenbremse' crisis: a symptom to be taken seriously in Europe

A new security order for Europe

The Editors of the Newsletter :
Stefanie Buzmaniuk, Helen Levy ,Basile Desvignes, Romain Maillot, Lina Nathan, Baptiste Comiti

N°ISSN : 2729-6482

Editor-in-Chief :
Eric Maurice

Director of Publication :
Pascale Joannin

Any questions or suggestions?
Contact Us!

info@robert-schuman.eu

The European Union's New Life

pdf

The Newsletter n°1018- version of 11 avr. 2023

La lettre101811 avr. 2023

La Lettre

Jean-Dominique Giuliani

11 avril 2023

L'Europe a changé, souligne Jean-Dominique Giuliani en introduction du "Rapport Schuman sur Europe, l'état de l'Union 2023", à paraître aux éditions Marie B. En moins de cinq ans, l'Union européenne s'est dotée de la plupart des outils qui lui manquaient pour développer une politique industrielle, organiser des solidarités dans l'épreuve, une stratégie d'autonomie en matière économique et sanitaire.

Lire la suite

A la une !

Inciter ou interdire

10 avril 2023

etudes.jpg
Tandis que les États-Unis font confiance à la science et aux industriels pour réussir leur mutation écologique, l'Europe privilégie les règles et les interdits. Elle doit développer les incitations si elle entend incarner l'exemple à suivre, écrit Jean-Dominique Giuliani.

Lire la suite

Fondation

Eurocosmos, simulation de négociations européennes

11 avril 2023

frs.jpg
Du 14 au 16 avril aura lieu une simulation du triangle institutionnel organisée par Eurocosmos, association universitaire de SciencesPo Nancy, à laquelle la Fondation est associée. Lors de la cérémonie d'ouverture, une table ronde sur les grands sujets européens se tiendra avec une intervention de Niccolò Bianchini, responsable des études de la Fondation.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Commission

Rapport 2022 sur la politique de concurrence

7 avril 2023

commission1.jpg
La Commission a publié, le 4 avril son rapport 2022 sur la politique de concurrence, qui revient en détail sur les initiatives politiques et législatives les plus importantes de l'année et sur les décisions de la Commission en application du droit de la concurrence de l'Union.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Faciliter la transmission des procédures pénales entre États membres

7 avril 2023

La Commission européenne a adopté le 5 avril une proposition de règlement relatif à la transmission des procédures pénales entre États membres. L'augmentation de la criminalité transfrontière a conduit à un nombre croissant d'affaires dans lesquelles plusieurs États membres sont compétents pour engager des poursuites concernant la même affaire. Cette proposition contribuera à prévenir les duplications de procédures et à éviter les cas d'impunité.

Lire la suite

Diplomatie

Conseil de l'énergie avec les États-Unis

7 avril 2023

diplomatie.jpg
Le dixième Conseil de l'énergie entre l'Union européenne et les Etats-Unis s'est réuni le 4 avril à Bruxelles. Les deux parties ont insisté sur l'importance de la coordination transatlantique sur les questions énergétiques stratégiques dans le contexte de la guerre en Ukraine, et ont discuté des efforts menés pour réduire les émissions de CO2.

Lire la suite

Versement de 10 millions € à la Moldavie

7 avril 2023

La Commission a annoncé le 5 avril le versement de 10 millions € d'assistance macro-financière à la Moldavie. Un autre versement de 40 millions € sera effectué début mai, afin d'aider le pays à répondre à ses besoins de financement urgents, ainsi que de soutenir sa stabilité macroéconomique et ses réformes.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Agences européennes

Démantèlement d'un marché de hackers en ligne

7 avril 2023

agences-eu.jpg
L'agence européenne de police Europol a annoncé le 5 avril le démantèlement de l'une des plus célèbres plateformes de hackers au monde, Genesis Market, qui servait à la vente d'identités numériques volées, notamment de comptes bancaires et leurs identifiants. L'opération a impliqué 17 pays et 119 personnes ont été arrêtées.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Airbus va doubler sa production en Chine

7 avril 2023

L'avionneur européen, Airbus, a signé le 6 avril des accords avec l'industrie aéronautique chinoise pour augmenter la capacité d'assemblage final de ses avions A320 avec une deuxième ligne sur son site de Tianjin qui devrait entrer en service d'ici à 2026.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Allemagne

Visite d'Olaf Scholz en Roumanie

7 avril 2023

allemagne.jpg
Le 3 avril, le Chancelier allemand Olaf Scholz s'est rendu en Roumanie pour rencontrer le Président roumain Klaus Iohannis et la Présidente moldave Maia Sandu. Il a rappelé le soutien des Occidentaux à un allié précieux de l'OTAN dans le soutien à l'Ukraine et plaidé en faveur d'une adhésion de la Roumanie à l'espace Schengen. Cette visite s'est déroulée un jour après que le fabricant d'armes allemand Rheinmetall a annoncé qu'il mettait en place un centre de maintenance et de logistique dans le nord de la Roumanie pour entretenir les armes utilisées en Ukraine.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Espagne

Visites de Pedro Sanchez à Chypre, Malte et en Italie

7 avril 2023

espagne.jpg
Le 4 avril, le premier ministre espagnol, Pedro Sanchez a rencontré le président chypriote Nikos Christodoulides à Nicosie et le premier ministre maltais Robert Abela à La Valette, en vue de préparer la présidence espagnole du Conseil au second semestre. Il a annoncé vouloir relancer le dialogue pour la réunification de Chypre. Il a discuté avec ses homologues de l'autonomie stratégique européenne, de la sécurité énergétique et alimentaire, et de la nécessité de réformer le marché européen de l'électricité. Le 5 avril, il a rencontré son homologue italienne, Georgia Meloni, avec laquelle il a parlé de la guerre en Ukraine, du climat et de migration.

Lire la suite -autre lien -autre lien

Estonie

Kaja Kallas forme une nouvelle coialition gouvernementale

10 avril 2023

estonie.jpg
Le 8 avril, la Première ministre estonienne, Kaja Kallas, a annoncé avoir conclu un accord avec deux autres partis politiques pour former un nouveau gouvernement de coalition qui comprend son Parti de la réforme,, le Parti centriste Estonia 200 et le Parti social-démocrate.

Lire la suite

Finlande

Démission du gouvernement de Sanna Marin

7 avril 2023

finlande.jpg
Après la défaite de son parti aux élections législatives le 2 avril, la première ministre finlandaise, Sanna Marin, a présenté la démission de son gouvernement au président Sauli Niinistö, le 6 avril. Le gouvernement restera en place pour gérer les affaires courantes jusqu'à la formation d'une nouvelle coalition. La veille, elle avait annoncé sa démission de la présidence du parti social-démocrate.

Lire la suite

France

Loi de programmation militaire

7 avril 2023

france.jpg
Sébastien Lecornu, ministre français des Armées, a présenté le 4 avril, en Conseil des ministres, le projet de loi de programmation militaire (LPM) 2024-2030. Avec un budget de 413 milliards €. Cette LPM porte l'ambition de transformer les armées pour faire face aux nouvelles menaces.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Visite d'Etat en Chine

10 avril 2023

Le président français Emmanuel Macron a effectué une visite d'Etat en Chine du 5 au 8 avril, avec pour objectif d'engager la Chine dans la responsabilité partagée pour la paix et la stabilité, de renforcer la relation commerciale franco-chinoise, et de réengager un cadre commun d'action sur les grands sujets internationaux tels que la lutte contre le changement climatique et la protection de la biodiversité. Le 6 avril, il a rencontré le président chinois Xi Jinping conjointement avec la présidente de la Commission Ursula von der Leyen. Ils ont demandé à la Chine d'agir pour aider à mettre fin à la guerre en Ukraine et rééquilibrer les relations commerciales entre la Chine et l'Union européenne.

Lire la suite -autre lien -autre lien

Lituanie

Mesures restrictives contre les Russes et Biélorusses

7 avril 2023

lituanie.jpg
Le Parlement lituanien a adopté le 4 avril des mesures restrictives supplémentaires visant à garantir les intérêts de la sécurité nationale du pays. Le texte durcit notamment les conditions d'octroi de visas et permis de séjour pour les Russes et Biélorusses, renforce les contrôles individuels, et suspend l'achat de biens immobiliers sur le territoire par les ressortissants des deux pays.

Lire la suite -autre lien

République Tchèque

Conseil des ministres tchéco-slovaque

7 avril 2023

republique-tcheque.jpg
Le 3 avril s'est tenu à Trencin, en Slovaquie, le 8e conseil des ministres tchéco-slovaque. Les premiers ministres slovaque et tchèque, Eduard Heger et Petr Fiala, ont rappelé l'importance de la concorde au sein de l'Union européenne et de l'OTAN afin de contrecarrer l'agression russe en Ukraine et de rendre plus efficaces les sanctions contre la Russie par des mécanismes visant à empêcher leur contournement. Les ministres ont évoqué les questions énergétiques, les normes européennes sur les émissions carbone, qui pourraient affecter l'industrie automobile.

Lire la suite -autre lien -autre lien

Royaume-Uni

Plan pour simplifier les contrôles douaniers post-Brexit

7 avril 2023

royaume-uni.jpg
Le gouvernement britannique a dévoilé le 5 avril un plan visant à simplifier les contrôles douaniers post-Brexit pour les marchandises en provenance ou à destination de l'Union européenne, tout en maintenant la sécurité des frontières britanniques. La réforme prévoit un investissement de plus d'1 milliard £ pour améliorer la technologie des douanes, de nouveaux certificats sanitaires d'exportation "simplifiés et numérisés", des contrôles adaptés aux produits importés ou exportés et la création d'un guichet commercial unique.

Lire la suite -autre lien

25e anniversaire des accords du Vendredi Saint

10 avril 2023

Il y a 25 ans, le 10 avril 1998, jour du Vendredi Saint, protestants et catholiques d'Irlande du Nord ont conclu un accord de paix historique, Le président américain, Joe Biden, est attendu à Belfast le 11 avril.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Russie

Appel à libérer le journaliste Evan Gershkovitch

7 avril 2023

russie.jpg
Le 30 mars, plus d'une trentaine de rédacteurs en chef de médias du monde entier ont adressé à l'ambassadeur russe aux Etats-Unis une lettre ouverte pour condamner la détention d'Evan Gershkovitch, journaliste du Wall Street Journal accusé d'espionnage par la Russie, et réclamer sa libération immédiate. Le 3 avril, 22 directeurs de grands médias français se sont joints à cette initiative et ont adressé à l'ambassadeur russe en France une lettre ouverte pour exiger la libération sans conditions ni délai d'Evan Gershkovitch.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Ukraine

Déplacement de Volodymyr Zelensky en Pologne

7 avril 2023

ukraine.jpg
Le président ukrainien Volodymyr Zelensky s'est rendu en Pologne le 5 avril. Dans un discours, il a remercié la Pologne pour sa solidarité . Il a signé avec le Premier ministre Mateusz Morawiecki une lettre d'intention pour la coopération sur la fourniture d'équipements de défense. Il a rencontré son homologue polonais, Andrzej Duda, avec lequel il a discuté du renforcement de l'armée ukrainienne, du retour des enfants ukrainiens illégalement expulsés par la Russie, de l'adhésion de l'Ukraine à l'Union européenne et de son intégration euro-atlantique.

Lire la suite -autre lien -autre lien -autre lien

Visites de responsables européens à Kiev

7 avril 2023

Le président ukrainien, Volodymyr Zelensky, a rencontré le vice-chancelier allemand, Robert Habeck, la directrice générale de l'UNESCO, Audrey Azoulay et la Secrétaire générale du Conseil de l'Europe, Marija Pejcinovic Buric, le 3 avril dans la région de Tchernihiv. Il a remercié le gouvernement allemand pour sa solidarité. Il a discuté de la nécessité d'inclure d'autres sites du patrimoine culturel ukrainien dans la liste de l'Unesco. Il a discuté de la création d'un mécanisme d'indemnisation dans le cadre des préparatifs du prochain sommet du Conseil de l'Europe à Reykjavík.

Lire la suite -autre lien -autre lien -autre lien -autre lien

Le Danemark confirme la livraison de chars Leopard 1

11 avril 2023

Le ministre danois de la Défense par intérim Troels Lund Poulsen a confirmé le 10 avril à Odessa lors d'un briefing avec son homologue ukrainien Oleksii Reznikov la livraison de chars Leopard 1 en Ukraine avant l'été.

Lire la suite

OTAN

La Finlande devient le 31ème membre de l'Alliance

7 avril 2023

otan.jpg
Le 4 avril, la Finlande est officiellement devenue le 31ème membre de l'Organisation du traité de l'Atlantique nord, après ratification par les 30 autres alliés. La Suède, qui a déposé sa demande d'adhésion en même temps que la Finlande, attend entend la ratification de la Hongrie et de la Turquie.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Réunion des ministres des Affaires étrangères

7 avril 2023

Les ministres des Affaires étrangères de l'OTAN se sont réunis les 4 et 5 avril à Bruxelles. Ils ont discuté de l'alignement de la Chine sur les positions russes et du risque d'un soutien chinois plus concret dans la guerre russe en Ukraine mais aussi de l'élaboration d'un programme d'assistance stratégique pluriannuel pour l'Ukraine.

Lire la suite -autre lien

OMC

Progression des échanges internationaux

7 avril 2023

omc.jpg
La croissance du commerce devrait ralentir à 1,7% en 2023 après une augmentation de 2,7% en 2022, a estimé l'Organisation mondiale du commerce le 5 avril, en soulignant les effets de la guerre en Ukraine, l'inflation élevée, une politique monétaire plus rigoureuse et l'incertitude des marchés financiers.

Lire la suite -autre lien

FMI

Perspectives économiques de la Suisse

7 avril 2023

fmi.jpg
Le FMI a publié le 4 avril ses perspectives économiques concernant la Suisse. Il note que l'économie suisse se montre résiliente. Le FMI prévoit un ralentissement de la croissance du PIB en 2023, qui passerait de 2,1% en 2022 à 0,8% avant de se redresser à 1,8% en 2024. L'inflation est projetée à 2,5 % pour 2023. Parmi ses recommandations, le FMI estime que la détente du marché du travail sera essentielle pour contenir l'inflation et empêcher que les pénuries de main-d'œuvre ne deviennent un goulot d'étranglement pour la compétitivité de la Suisse.

Lire la suite

Croissance de l'économie mondiale inférieure à 3 % en 2023

7 avril 2023

L'économie mondiale devrait connaître une des périodes de croissance les plus faibles de ces dernières décennies et être inférieure à 3% en 2023, a estimé le 6 avril la directrice générale du Fonds monétaire international (FMI), Kristalina Georgieva, à l'occasion de son discours lançant les réunions de printemps de l'institution.

Lire la suite

Culture

Roni Horn à Santander

7 avril 2023

culture.jpg
Jusqu'au 10 septembre, le centro Botin de Santander organise une exposition consacrée à Roni Horn, intitulée "l'espoir me paralyse". C'est l'artiste lui-même qui l'a pensée, en accord avec l'architecture du musée et de son emplacement face à la baie, afin de produire un effet singulier sur le spectateur. A travers des photographies, des dessins et des sculptures, l'exposition englobe ainsi près de trois décennies de la carrière de l'artiste.

Lire la suite

Ramsès et l'or des pharaons

7 avril 2023

Jusqu'au 6 septembre, la Grande Halle de la Villette présente l'exposition "Ramsès et l'or des pharaons". Après Houston aux États-Unis, la France est le seul pays d'Europe à l'accueillir et, surtout, le seul à montrer le cercueil en bois peint de Ramsès II grâce à une coopération inédite entre la France et l'Égypte. L'exposition présente plus de 180 pièces originales (statues, bijoux...), dont certaines jamais sorties d'Égypte, lors d'une plongée dans plus de trois mille ans d'Histoire.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Réouverture du musée Ateneum à Helsinski

7 avril 2023

Le 14 avril marquera la réouverture du musée Ateneum d'Helsinki. Conjointement à cela débutera l'exposition intitulée "A question of time". Pour l'occasion, le musée a décidé de ne pas présenter cette exposition de manière traditionnelle et chronologique. A l'inverse, "A Question of Time" présente quatre thèmes : l'âge de la nature, les images d'un peuple, la vie moderne et l'art et le pouvoir. Ces thématiques traversent différentes époques et s'inspirent des questions contemporaines.

Lire la suite

Helmut Newton à Milan

7 avril 2023

Jusqu'au 25 juin, le Palais Reale à Milan, en collaboration avec la Fondation Helmut Newton de Berlin, dédie une exposition à Helmut Newton. 250 photographies, dont certaines parmi les plus emblématiques de son travail, permettent de retracer le parcours du photographe. Des photographies inédites sont également présentées pour la première fois en Italie, permettant au spectateur de découvrir un pan ignoré de la carrière d'Helmut Newton.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Musée David Cerny à Prague

7 avril 2023

L'artiste tchèque David Černý, connu pour ses œuvres provocatrices et sa collaboration avec de grands développeurs, a ouvert le 1er avril un musée, le Musoleum, à Prague . Il se trouve en face du centre artistique MeetFactory, que David Černý et ses amis dirigent depuis plusieurs années.

Lire la suite

Caspar David Friedrich à Schweinfurt

7 avril 2023

Le musée Georg Schäfer de Schweinfurt accueille jusqu'au 2 juillet une exposition consacrée au peintre Caspar David Friedrich et aux hérauts du romantisme. L'exposition s'intéresse particulièrement à l'influence de la peinture des XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles sur la naissance et le développement du romantisme pictural au XIXe siècle. Elle souligne le changement profond de la perception de la nature chez les peintres romantiques.

Lire la suite

Miriam Elia à Varsovie

7 avril 2023

Jusqu'au 11 juin, le centre d'art contemporain de Varsovie présente l'exposition "le nouveau normal" de Miriam Elia. Elle s'interroge sur les nouvelles "règles du jeu" qui se sont jouées pendant la pandémie et le confinement, elle évalue l'après-choc et le nouvel ordre mondial qui en découle.

Lire la suite

Salon d'art contemporain de Zurich

7 avril 2023

Du 14 au 16 avril se tient le salon international d'art contemporain, art3f, à Zurich, un savant mélange entre l'art coup de cœur, l'art abordable et la plus belle représentation artistique du moment. Autant de raisons de partir à la découverte de l'art en famille.

Lire la suite

Exposition "Picasso 1969-1972 : la fin du début" à Antibes

7 avril 2023

Jusqu'au 2 juillet, le musée Picasso d'Antibes, avec le soutien du musée Picasso-Paris, consacre une exposition à Pablo Picasso à l'occasion du cinquantième anniversaire de sa disparition. L'exposition donne l'occasion au visiteur de découvrir la richesse de la fin de la carrière du peintre.

Lire la suite

Ai Weiwei à Londres

7 avril 2023

Le musée du Design de Londres accueille jusqu'au 30 juillet une exposition consacrée à l'artiste et dissident chinois Ai Weiwei. Cette exposition sera la première à présenter son travail comme un commentaire sur le design. De nombreuses œuvres seront exposées pour la première fois, qui interrogent le sens donné aux objets, ce qu'ils disent de l'histoire, en particulier celle de la Chine, qu'Ai Weiwei a dû quitter en 2015.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Agenda

les 11 et 12 avril

Visite d'État du président français (Pays-Bas)


les 17-20 avril 2023

Session plénière du Parlement européen (Strasbourg)


les 18-19 avril 2023

Réunion informelle des ministres de l'Environnement (Stockholm)


Les archives de la lettre

Quelle recomposition politique à l'issue du scrutin européen ?

Freins nationalistes et impensés géopolitiques : le cas spécifique de la Macédoine du Nord

Vingt ans après le grand élargissement

Nouveaux défis européens : la leçon "Schuman"

Quelle santé pour les Européens ?

Les rédacteurs de la Lettre :
Stefanie Buzmaniuk, Helen Levy ,Basile Desvignes, Romain Maillot, Lina Nathan, Baptiste Comiti

N°ISSN : 2729-6482

Rédacteur en chef :
Eric Maurice

Directeur de la publication :
Pascale Joannin

Une question, une suggestion ?
Contactez nous !

info@robert-schuman.eu

La nouvelle vie de l'Union européenne

pdf

La lettre n°1018- version du 11 avr. 2023