The Newsletter10382 oct. 2023

La Lettre

Florent Parmentier

2 October 2023

Last spring, the EU launched a civilian mission to help Moldova combat the hybrid threats posed by Russia. We take stock of the situation at the third meeting of the European Political Community on 5 October in Granada.

Read more

Elections

Robert Fico's Smer-SD comes out ahead in Slovakia's parliamentary elections

2 October 2023

2013-05-28-16-31-14.6973.jpg
Direction-Social Democracy (SMER-SD), led by former prime minister Robert Fico, came out ahead in the general elections held on 30 September, with 22.94% of the vote and 42 of the 150 seats in parliament. It edged out Progressive Slovakia (PS), the social-liberal and pro-European party led by Michal Simecka (17.96% with 32 seats), and 5 other parties. Political analysts agree that it is highly likely that a coalition will emerge comprising the SMER-SD parties, the Hlas party of former prime minister Peter Pellegrini, and the nationalist and populist National Party (SNS).

Read more

Foundation

Publication of the Schuman Report, State of the Union 2023

2 October 2023

2023-04-05-12-59-28.6692.jpg
Europe has changed... This is the message of the "Schuman Report on Europe, the State of the Union 2023", which analyses the profound changes that have taken place in Europe, accelerated by the shock of the war in Ukraine. This 17th edition, published by Marie B., includes 19 contributions from high-level personalities, including Christophe Lucas. The book includes 30 original maps and a full set of commented statistics. The book is available in French and in English in digital format. You can order it here.

Read more

Commission

Transitional phase in the application of the border carbon adjustment mechanism

2 October 2023

2015-02-17-11-48-29.7227.jpg
On 1 October, the Border Carbon Adjustment Mechanism (BCAM) came into force on a transitional basis. This mechanism requires companies to purchase certificates to offset greenhouse gas emissions from the production of products imported into the European Union. The transitional phase will last until 2026. The products concerned are cement, iron, steel, aluminium, fertiliser, electricity and hydrogen, and no financial adjustments will be necessary during this phase.

Read more -another link

Council

Meeting of Ministers responsible for Competitiveness

2 October 2023

2023-10-02-13-44-41.2225.jpg
On 25 September, the Industry ministers reached agreement on two pieces of legislation relating to intellectual property, improving the protection of industrial designs in the light of developments in 3D printing. An agreement was reached on the Euro 7 regulation on internal combustion engine emissions. The ministers wish to increase the maximum emission thresholds proposed by the Commission.

Read more

Ministers of Culture adopt the Caceres Declaration

2 October 2023

2023-09-03-19-39-39.7381.jpg
The ministers of culture meeting on 25 and 26 September signed the Caceres Declaration, committing to working towards making culture a global public good at the highest political level, and a pillar of European integration in the future. They discussed the sustainable management of cultural heritage and the need to develop public cultural policies at European level.

Read more -another link

Agreement on the fee system of the European Medicines Agency

2 October 2023

2020-03-24-15-59-35.3664.jpg
On 26 September, the Council and Parliament reached an agreement on the revision of the system of fees payable to the European Medicines Agency (EMA) for processing marketing authorisation applications for medicinal products. The two institutions must now definitively adopt the agreement.

Read more

Meeting of Home Affairs Ministers

2 October 2023

2015-05-22-11-03-39.5461.jpg
On 28 September, the Home Affairs ministers made headway in the implementation of the Pact on Asylum and Migration, bringing the States closer to a consensus in the Council on the settlement of crises and force majeure. The ministers signed a joint declaration with the Latin American Committee on Internal Security, and adopted a decision on the participation of Switzerland, Norway and Iceland in the integrated border management fund.

Read more

Meeting of European Affairs Ministers

2 October 2023

2013-05-27-15-43-57.5286.jpg
On 28 and 29 September, the European Affairs ministers, meeting in Murcia, discussed the implications of a possible enlargement of the European Union and the relevant institutional reforms. They exchanged views on the issue of open strategic autonomy in areas such as food, health, energy and digital technology. The ministers discussed the future of cohesion policy in the next multiannual financial framework.

Read more -another link

Diplomacy

Economic and trade dialogue with China

2 October 2023

2015-09-28-13-56-02.7120.jpg
On 25 September, the Executive Vice President of the Commission, Valdis Dombrovskis, met the Chinese Vice Prime Minister He Lifeng as part of the 1st EU-China Economic Dialogue. He called for better access to the Chinese market and fair economic competition, so that the two economies can offer each other the same level of openness and transparency.

Read more

Court of Auditors

Report on the wine policy

2 October 2023

2018-10-02-12-58-55.6057.jpg
On 26 September, the French Court of Auditors published a report on wine policy and its impact on the sector's competitiveness and the environment. The Court recommends that the Commission focus funding for the sector on the competitiveness of farms and raise the environmental ambitions of wine policy.

Read more

Germany

Tightening of Czech and Polish border controls

2 October 2023

2014-09-18-17-40-17.8027.jpg
Germany, the Czech Republic and Poland reached an agreement on 27 September to step up the fight against illegal migration. Targeted checks by the police forces of the three countries are set to increase, particularly on migrant smuggling routes.

Read more -another link

Spain

Alberto Nunez Feijoo has failed to become Prime Minister

2 October 2023

2013-05-28-16-23-39.3907.jpg
On 29 September, the majority of the Congress of Deputies rejected the appointment of the leader of the People's Party (PP), Alberto Nunez Feijoo, as President of the Government. Having come out ahead in the parliamentary elections in July, he won the support of 172 deputies compared to 177 votes against. The President of the outgoing government and leader of the Socialist Party (PSOE), Pedro Sanchez, is expected to take his turn in trying to form a government.

Read more -another link

France

International meeting on nuclear power

2 October 2023

2013-12-16-17-49-27.6864.jpg
Energy and industry ministers from 21 countries, including 15 European countries, and some thirty nuclear industry leaders met in Paris on 28 and 29 September to discuss international collaboration on nuclear energy as a way of tackling the climate crisis and reducing dependence on fossil fuels. They stressed the need to regulate nuclear deployment and support research and development. They called on international financial institutions and development banks to finance nuclear energy.

Read more -another link

French Foreign Minister in Finland and Latvia

2 October 2023

2023-10-02-12-04-55.2286.jpg
French Foreign Minister Catherine Colonna travelled to Helsinki and Riga on 28 and 29 September. In Helsinki, she met her Finnish counterpart Elina Valtonen and Prime Minister Petteri Orpo, to prepare her visit to France on 4 October. In Riga, she held talks with Latvian President Edgars Rinkevics and Prime Minister Evika Silina on maintaining sanctions against Russia, enlargement and security issues.

Read more -another link -another link

Ireland

Conference of the leaders of the Parliaments of Europe

2 October 2023

2023-10-02-12-59-15.3037.jpg
On 28 and 29 September, the Speakers of the Parliaments of the Member States of the Council of Europe met in Dublin. They discussed the role of national parliaments in the reconstruction of Ukraine, representative democracy in times of instability, and diversity in public representation.

Read more

Italy

Meeting between Emmanuel Macron and Giorgia Meloni

2 October 2023

2015-03-31-10-52-27.3618.jpg
French President Emmanuel Macron met Italian Prime Minister Gioriga Meloni in Rome on 26 September, on the sidelines of the funeral of former Italian President Giorgio Napolitano. The two leaders discussed the management of the migration situation and Europe's economic priorities. The day before, French Foreign Minister Catherine Colonna received her Italian counterpart Antonio Tajani, with whom she discussed migration.

Read more -another link -another link

Malta

Summit of Mediterranean countries

2 October 2023

2023-10-02-12-57-12.4737.jpg
On 29 September, the leaders of the European Union's nine Mediterranean countries, together with the Presidents of the European Council and the Commission, met in Malta for an EU-Med 9 summit, calling for a "united" and "structural" response to the migration crisis.

Read more -another link

Poland

Major opposition demonstration

2 October 2023

2023-10-02-12-47-46.6059.jpg
On 1 October, the Polish opposition rallied a million people in Warsaw in a demonstration against the government's policies and attacks on the rule of law. Donald Tusk, former Prime Minister, former President of the European Council and leader of the Civic Platform, called on Poles to vote for the opposition in the parliamentary elections on 15 October.

Read more -another link -another link

Armenia

Dissolution of Nagorno-Karabakh and exodus of its population

2 October 2023

2018-10-08-14-47-33.7108.png
On 28 September, the self-proclaimed republic of Nagorno-Karabakh announced its dissolution on 1 January 2024, a week after Azerbaijan's offensive and occupation of the territory. According to the Armenian authorities, more than 100,000 of the 120,000 inhabitants of the enclave have already fled. The European Union has announced €5 million in humanitarian aid.

Read more -another link -another link

Moldova

Accession to the European civil protection mechanism

2 October 2023

2023-10-02-12-32-54.4141.png
On 29 September, the European Commission announced that it had signed an agreement with Moldova to allow the country to join the European Civil Protection Mechanism. This mechanism enables the 27 EU Member States and 10 other signatory states to offer assistance when one of the states is hit by a disaster. Moldova has already benefited from the help of this mechanism to manage the arrival of Ukrainian migrants at the beginning of 2022. The agreement applies provisionally and will come into force definitively on 1 January 2024.

Read more

Ukraine

Reminder of Russia's obligations regarding the rights of Ukrainian children

2 October 2023

2014-03-27-11-08-46.3233.jpg
On 26 September, the Council of Europe's Lanzarote Committee adopted a declaration deploring Russia's failure to respond appropriately and urging it to cooperate in accordance with its obligations as a Party to the Council of Europe Convention on the Protection of Children against Sexual Exploitation and Sexual Abuse, also known as the "Lanzarote Convention".

Read more

Visit by the European Foreign Ministers and the Secretary General of NATO

2 October 2023

ua-oee-2.jpg
NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg was received in Kyiv by Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky and stated on 28 September that "Ukraine is now closer to NATO than ever". EU High Representative Josep Borrell visited Odessa on 30 September and then Kyiv. He was joined on 2 October by the foreign affairs ministers for a meeting with their counterpart Dmytro Kuleba and President Volodymyr Zelensky, to reiterate the European Union's support for Ukraine's territorial integrity.

Read more -another link -another link -another link

The French Minister for the Armed Forces in Ukraine and Moldova

2 October 2023

2023-08-18-17-11-39.3293.jpg
On 28 September, Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky hosted French Defence Minister Sébastien Lecornu in Kyiv as part of the first Defence Industries Forum organised in Ukraine since the start of the war. They discussed French aid to Ukraine, given the risk of the conflict becoming entrenched. On 25 September, the Minister visited Moldova where he met the Moldovan President, Maia Sandu, with whom he discussed the strengthening of defence capabilities.

Read more -another link

Extension of temporary protection

2 October 2023

2014-02-25-15-45-28.2488.jpg
On 28 September, the interior ministers agreed to extend the temporary protection granted to Ukrainians fleeing the war until March 2025. Since March 2022, these people have had access to rights on European territory, including the right of residence, access to the labour market and access to social assistance. The decision has yet to be formally adopted.

Read more

Studies/Reports

Progress report on the digital decade

2 October 2023

2020-09-22-12-00-36.9721.jpg
On 27 September, the Commission published its progress report on the digital decade, reviewing Europe's progress in the digital field in the light of the 2030 objectives. The report contains collective and national recommendations for accelerating the digital transition, in particular through investment in infrastructure, technology and skills development.

Read more -another link

Eurostat

Inflation down in September

2 October 2023

2013-02-07-13-43-00.0021.jpg
In September, annual inflation in the eurozone was down on the previous month, at 4.3%, according to the flash estimate published by Eurostat on 29 September.

Read more -another link

Culture

"Flower Power" exhibition in Giverny

2 October 2023

2023-10-02-13-31-53.5033.png
Until 7 January 2024, the Musée des Impressionnismes in Giverny is presenting an interdisciplinary exhibition on the history of flowers entitled "Flower Power". Featuring works by major artists, the exhibition explores not only the aesthetic function of the floral motif, but also its political, religious and scientific role.

Read more

Concert at the Camp des Milles in Aix-en-Provence

2 October 2023

2023-10-02-13-34-31.5214.png
The Camp des Milles memorial site, a former deportation camp in Aix-en-Provence, is organising a concert-event on 5 October at 7.30pm. This musical tribute has been organised by the association Forum Voix Étouffées, whose aim is to promote and make heard the music of composers oppressed, banned and murdered by totalitarian regimes, in this case Nazism.

Read more

International Film Festival in Warsaw

2 October 2023

2023-10-02-13-33-24.6113.jpg
From 6 to 15 October, the Warsaw Film Festival brings together directors from the international scene, introducing audiences to independent films from a wide range of cultural backgrounds.

Read more

Frans Hals in London

2 October 2023

2023-10-02-13-28-06.8926.png
Until 21 January 2024, works by the Dutch Baroque painter Frans Hals are on show at the National Gallery in London. Among the fifty or so works on show is "The Laughing Cavalier" (1624), from the Wallace Collection, on loan for the first time on an exceptional basis.

Read more

Women Artists in Munich

2 October 2023

2023-10-02-13-30-27.1417.png
Until 10 March 2024, Munich's House of Art is presenting the exhibition "Inside Other Spaces. Environments by Women Artists 1956-1976", showcasing the work of eleven women artists spanning three generations, from Europe, Asia and America. The exhibition allows visitors to plunge into the heart of "experiments", immersive and unconventional works at the crossroads of art and design.

Read more

Mediterranean Film Festival in Bastia

2 October 2023

2023-10-02-13-22-57.1936.jpg
The Arte Mare film festival runs until 7 October in Bastia. Its programme is devoted to films about Mediterranean culture.

Read more

El Greco in Santander and Picasso in Madrid

2 October 2023

es-oee-1.jpg
The Centre Botín in Santander is hosting a lively exhibition until 11 February 2024. The German-British visual artist Tino Sehgal confronts his work with the famous painting by El Greco, "The Adoration of the Shepherds". The exhibition, Picasso: the Sacred and the Profane, runs until 14 January 2024 at the Museo Thyssen-Bornemisza in Madrid. It highlights the painter's approach to pagan rites and the heritage of the sacramental through different Christian allegories.

Read more -another link

Jasper Johns exhibition in Basel

2 October 2023

2023-10-02-13-25-17.6297.png
The Basel Art Museum is presenting an exhibition entitled "Jasper Johns - an art collector" until 4 February 2024. A renowned painter, Jasper Johns also pursued a career as a collector, accumulating canvases by Paul Cézanne, Pablo Picasso and Willem de Kooning. The exhibition shows the great diversity and originality of the works collected by Johns.

Read more

Nobel Prize

Nobel Prize for Medicine

2 October 2023

2014-10-13-15-13-13.3303.jpg
On October 2, the Nobel Prize for Medicine was awarded to Katalin Kariko of Hungary and Drew Weissman of the United States for their role in the development of mRNA vaccines, used in particular against Covid-19.

Read more -another link

Agenda

les 2-5 October 2023

Plenary Session of the European Parliament (Strasbourg)


5 October 2023

Meeting of the European Political Community (Grenada)


6 October 2023

Meeting of the Heads of State and Government of the European Union (Grenada)


8 October 2023

General Elections (Luxembourg)


9 October 2023

Employment, Social Policy, Health and Consumer Affairs Council (Brussels)


Newsletter Archives

The Defence of Europe by Europeans: a myth, a necessity, an ambition, a hope?

The BRICS, a geopolitical challenge overlooked by the European Union

Ukraine's European Aspirations

The German 'Schuldenbremse' crisis: a symptom to be taken seriously in Europe

A new security order for Europe

The Editors of the Newsletter :
Stefanie Buzmaniuk, Helen Levy, Louis Brand, Mila Shay, Romane Wanner, Loup Panteix

N°ISSN : 2729-6482

Editor-in-Chief :
Eric Maurice

Director of Publication :
Pascale Joannin

Any questions or suggestions?
Contact Us!

info@robert-schuman.eu

Moldova, land of the European Union's partnership mission

pdf

The Newsletter n°1038- version of 2 oct. 2023

La lettre10382 oct. 2023

La Lettre

Florent Parmentier

2 octobre 2023

L'Union a lancé au printemps dernier une mission civile pour aider la Moldavie à lutter contre les menaces hybrides que fait peser la Russie. Etat des lieux à l'occasion de la troisième réunion de la Communauté politique européenne, le 5 octobre à Grenade.

Lire la suite

Elections

Smer-SD de Robert Fico arrive en tête des élections législatives en Slovaquie

2 octobre 2023

2013-05-28-16-31-14.6973.jpg
Direction-Démocratie sociale (SMER-SD), dirigé par l'ancien premier ministre Robert Fico, est arrivé en tête des élections législatives du 30 septembre, avec 22,94% des suffrages et 42 des 150 sièges au Parlement. Il devance Slovaquie progressiste (PS), parti social-libéral et pro-européen dirigé par Michal Simecka (17,96% det 32 sièges), et 5 autres partis. Les analystes politiques s'accordent sur la forte probabilité de voir émerger une coalition comprenant les partis SMER-SD, le parti Hlas de l'ancien premier ministre Peter Pellegrini, et le Parti national (SNS), nationaliste et populiste.

Lire la suite

Fondation

Publication du Rapport Schuman, l'état de l'Union 2023

2 octobre 2023

2023-04-05-12-59-28.6692.jpg
L'Europe a changé... C'est ce que montre le "Rapport Schuman sur l'Europe, l'état de l'Union 2023", qui analyse les profonds changements intervenus en Europe, accélérés par le choc de la guerre en Ukraine. Cette 17e édition parue aux éditions Marie B. comporte 19 contributions de personnalités de haut niveau dont celle de Christophe Lucas. L'ouvrage compte 30 cartes originales et un ensemble complet de statistiques commentées. L'ouvrage est disponible en français, et en anglais au format numérique. Commandez-le.

Lire la suite

Commission

Phase transitoire d'application du mécanisme d'ajustement carbone aux frontières

2 octobre 2023

2015-02-17-11-48-29.7227.jpg
Le 1er octobre, le mécanisme d'ajustement carbone aux frontières (MACF) est entré en application de manière transitoire. Ce mécanisme impose aux entreprises l'achat de certificats permettant de compenser les émissions de gaz à effet de serre lors de la production de produits importés vers l'Union européenne. La phase transitoire durera jusqu'à 2026, les produits concernés sont le ciment, le fer, l'acier, l'aluminium, l'engrais, l'électricité et l'hydrogène, et aucun ajustement financier ne sera nécessaire durant cette phase.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Conseil

Réunion des ministres chargés de la compétitivité

2 octobre 2023

2023-10-02-13-44-41.2225.jpg
Le 25 septembre, les ministres de l'Industrie ont trouvé des accords sur deux législations relatives à la propriété intellectuelle, améliorant la protection des dessins et modèles industriels face aux évolutions de l'impression 3D. Un accord a été trouvé sur le règlement Euro 7 relatif aux émissions des moteurs thermiques. Les ministres souhaitent augmenter les seuils d'émissions maximales proposés par la Commission.

Lire la suite

Les ministres de la Culture adoptent la déclaration de Caceres

2 octobre 2023

2023-09-03-19-39-39.7381.jpg
Les ministres de la Culture réunis les 25 et 26 septembre ont signé la déclaration de Caceres, par laquelle ils s'engagent à œuvrer pour faire de la culture un bien public mondial au plus haut niveau politique, et un pilier de la construction européenne à l'avenir. Ils ont discuté de la gestion durable du patrimoine et de la nécessité de développer le niveau européen des politiques publiques de la culture.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Accord sur le système de redevances de l'Agence européenne des médicaments

2 octobre 2023

2020-03-24-15-59-35.3664.jpg
Le 26 septembre, le Conseil et le Parlement ont trouvé un accord sur la révision du système des redevances dues à l'Agence européenne des médicaments (EMA) pour traiter les demandes de mise sur le marché des médicaments. Les deux institutions doivent désormais adopter définitivement l'accord.

Lire la suite

Réunion des ministres de l'Intérieur

2 octobre 2023

2015-05-22-11-03-39.5461.jpg
Le 28 septembre, les ministres de l'Intérieur ont progressé dans la mise en place du pacte sur l'asile et la migration, en rapprochant les États d'un consensus au Conseil sur le règlement de crise et de force majeure. Les ministres ont signé une déclaration conjointe avec le Comité d'Amérique latine sur la sécurité intérieure, et adopté une décision relative à la participation de la Suisse, de la Norvège et de l'Islande au fond intégré pour la gestion des frontières.

Lire la suite

Réunion des ministres des Affaires européennes

2 octobre 2023

2013-05-27-15-43-57.5286.jpg
Les 28 et 29 septembre, les ministres des Affaires européennes, réunis à Murcie, ont discuté des implications d'un éventuel élargissement de l'Union européenne et des réformes institutionnelles pertinentes. Ils ont échangé sur la question de l'autonomie stratégique ouverte dans des domaines tels que l'alimentation, la santé, l'énergie et le numérique. Les ministres ont évoqué l'avenir de la politique de cohésion dans le prochain cadre financier pluriannuel.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Diplomatie

Dialogue économique et commercial avec la Chine

2 octobre 2023

2015-09-28-13-56-02.7120.jpg
Le 25 septembre, le vice président exécutif de la Commission, Valdis Dombrovskis, a rencontré le vice-Premier ministre chinois He Lifeng dans le cadre du 1e dialogue économique UE-Chine. Il a plaidé en faveur d'un meilleur accès au marché chinois et d'une concurrence économique loyale, afin que les deux économies présentent l'une à l'autre le même niveau d'ouverture et de transparence.

Lire la suite

Cour des comptes

Rapport sur la politique vitivinicole

2 octobre 2023

2018-10-02-12-58-55.6057.jpg
Le 26 septembre, la Cour des comptes a publié un rapport sur la politique viticole, son impact sur la compétitivité du secteur et sur l'environnement. La Cour recommande à la Commission d'axer les financements du secteur sur la compétitivité des exploitations et de relever le niveau d'ambition environnementale de la politique vitivinicole.

Lire la suite

Allemagne

Renforcement ces contrôles aux frontières tchèque et polonaise

2 octobre 2023

2014-09-18-17-40-17.8027.jpg
L'Allemagne, la République tchèque et la Pologne ont trouvé un accord le 27 septembre pour renforcer la lutte contre la migration clandestine. Les contrôles ciblés par les polices des trois pays devraient augmenter, notamment sur les itinéraires de trafic de migrants.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Espagne

Alberto Nunez Feijoo échoue à devenir Premier ministre

2 octobre 2023

2013-05-28-16-23-39.3907.jpg
Le 29 septembre, la majorité du Congrès des députés a rejeté l'investiture du leader du Parti populaire (PP), Alberto Nunez Feijoo, comme président du gouvernement. Arrivé en tête des élections parlementaires en juillet, il a reçu le soutien de 172 députés contre 177 votes négatifs. Le président du gouvernement sortant et leader du Parti socialiste (PSOE), Pedro Sanchez, devrait être chargé, à son tour, d'essayer de former un gouvernement.

Lire la suite -autre lien

France

Réunion internationale sur le nucléaire

2 octobre 2023

2013-12-16-17-49-27.6864.jpg
Les ministres de l'Énergie et de l'Industrie de 21 États, dont 15 européens, ainsi qu'une trentaine de dirigeants de l'industrie nucléaire se sont réunis à Paris les 28 et 29 septembre pour évoquer une collaboration internationale en matière d'énergie nucléaire, afin de répondre à la crise climatique et de réduire la dépendance à l'égard des combustibles fossiles. Ils ont souligné la nécessité de réguler le déploiement du nucléaire et de soutenir la recherche et le développement. Ils ont appelé les institutions financières internationales et les banques de développement à financer l'énergie nucléaire.

Lire la suite -autre lien

la ministre française des Affaires étrangères en Finlande et Lettonie

2 octobre 2023

2023-10-02-12-04-55.2286.jpg
La ministre française des Affaires étrangères Catherine Colonna s'est déplacée à Helsinki et à Riga les 28 et 29 septembre. A Helsinki, elle a rencontré son homologue finlandaise Elina Valtonen et le Premier ministre Petteri Orpo, pour préparer sa visite en France le 4 octobre prochain. A Riga, elles s'est entretenue avec le président letton Edgars Rinkevics et la Première ministre Evika Silina du maintien des sanctions envers la Russie, de l'élargissement et des questions de sécurité.

Lire la suite -autre lien -autre lien

Irlande

Conférence des présidents des Parlements d'Europe

2 octobre 2023

2023-10-02-12-59-15.3037.jpg
Les 28 et 29 septembre, les présidents des Parlements des Etats membres du Conseil de l'Europe se sont réunis à Dublin. Ils ont discuté du rôle des parlements nationaux dans la reconstruction de l'Ukraine, de la démocratie représentative en période d'instabilité, et de la diversité dans la représentation publique.

Lire la suite

Italie

Rencontre entre Emmanuel Macron et Giorgia Meloni

2 octobre 2023

2015-03-31-10-52-27.3618.jpg
Le Président français Emmanuel Macron a rencontré la présidente du Conseil italien Gioriga Meloni à Rome, le 26 septembre, en marge des funérailles de l'ancien président italien Giorgio Napolitano. Les deux dirigeants ont échangé sur la gestion de la situation migratoire et les priorités économiques européennes. La veille, la ministre française des Affaires étrangères Catherine Colonna avait reçu son homologue italien Antonio Tajani, avec lequel elle a discuté de migration.

Lire la suite -autre lien -autre lien

Malte

Sommet des pays méditerranéens

2 octobre 2023

2023-10-02-12-57-12.4737.jpg
Le 29 septembre, les dirigeants des neuf pays méditerranéens de l'Union européenne, ainsi que les président du Conseil européen et de la Commission, se sont retrouvés à Malte pour un sommet EU-Med 9. Ils ont appelé à une réponse "unie" et "structurelle" face à la crise migratoire.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Pologne

Grande manifestation de l'opposition

2 octobre 2023

2023-10-02-12-47-46.6059.jpg
Le 1er octobre, l'opposition polonaise a rassemblé un million de personnes à Varsovie lors d'une manifestation contre la politique du gouvernement et les atteintes à l'État de droit. Donald Tusk, ancien Premier ministre, ancien président du Conseil européen et leader de la plateforme civique a appelé les Polonais à voter pour l'opposition lors des élections parlementaires du 15 octobre.

Lire la suite -autre lien -autre lien

Arménie

Dissolution du Haut-Karabagh et exode de sa population

2 octobre 2023

2018-10-08-14-47-33.7108.png
Le 28 septembre, la république autoproclamée du Haut-Karabagh a annoncé sa dissolution au 1er janvier 2024, une semaine après l'offensive de l'Azerbaïdjan et l'occupation du territoire. Selon les autorités arméniennes, plus de 100 000 personnes sur les 120 000 habitants dans l'enclave, auraient déjà fui. L'Union européenne a annoncé une aide humanitaire de 5 millions €.

Lire la suite -autre lien -autre lien

Moldavie

Adhésion au mécanisme de protection civile européen

2 octobre 2023

2023-10-02-12-32-54.4141.png
Le 29 septembre, la Commission européenne a annoncé la signature d'un accord avec la Moldavie actant l'entrée du pays dans le mécanisme européen de protection civile. Ce mécanisme permet aux 27 États de l'Union et à 10 autres États signataires de proposer une assistance lorsque l'un des États est frappé par une catastrophe, la Moldavie avait déjà pu profiter de l'aide de ce mécanisme pour gérer l'arrivée de migrants ukrainiens début 2022. L'accord s'applique à titre provisoire et entrera définitivement en vigueur le 1er janvier 2024.

Lire la suite

Ukraine

Rappel aux obligations de la Russie sur les droits des enfants ukrainiens

2 octobre 2023

2014-03-27-11-08-46.3233.jpg
Le 26 septembre, le Comité de Lanzarote du Conseil de l'Europe a adopté une déclaration déplorant l'absence de réponse appropriée de la Russie et l'exhortant à coopérer conformément à ses obligations en tant que Partie à la Convention du Conseil de l'Europe sur la protection des enfants contre l'exploitation et les abus sexuels, également appelée "Convention de Lanzarote".

Lire la suite

Visite des ministres européens des Affaires étrangères et du secrétaire général de l'OTAN

2 octobre 2023

ua-oee-2.jpg
Reçu à Kiev par le président ukrainien, Volodymyr Zelensky, le secrétaire général de l'OTAN, Jens Stoltenberg, a affirmé le 28 septembre que "l'Ukraine était maintenant plus proche de l'Otan que jamais". Le Haut représentant de l'Union Josep Borrell s'est rendu à Odessa le 30 septembre, puis à Kiev. Il a été rejoint le 2 octobre par les ministres des Affaires étrangères pour une réunion avec leur homologue Dmytro Kuleba et le president Volodymyr Zelensky, afin de réitérer le soutien de l'Union européenne àl'intégrité territoriale de l'Ukraine.

Lire la suite -autre lien -autre lien -autre lien

Le ministre français des Armées en Ukraine et en Moldavie

2 octobre 2023

2023-08-18-17-11-39.3293.jpg
Le 28 septembre, le président ukrainien Volodymyr Zelensky a reçu le ministre français des Armées, Sébastien Lecornu, à Kiev, dans le cadre du premier Forum des industries de défense organisé en Ukraine depuis le début de la guerre. Ils ont discuté de l'aide française à l'Ukraine, face au risque que le conflit qui s'installe dans la durée. Le 25 septembre, le ministre était en visite en Moldavie où il a rencontré la présidente moldave, Maia Sandu, avec qui il a évoqué le renforcement des capacités de défense.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Prolongation de la protection temporaire

2 octobre 2023

2014-02-25-15-45-28.2488.jpg
Le 28 septembre, les ministres de l'Intérieur ont donné leur accord à l'extension jusqu'en mars 2025 de la protection temporaire accordée aux Ukrainiens fuyant la guerre. Depuis mars 2022, ces derniers ont accès à des droits sur le territoire européen, tels que le droit de résidence, l'accès au marché du travail ou l'accès à une assistance sociale. La décision doit encore être adoptée formellement.

Lire la suite

Etudes/Rapports

Rapport sur l'avancement de la décennie numérique

2 octobre 2023

2020-09-22-12-00-36.9721.jpg
La Commission a publié le 27 septembre son rapport sur l'état d'avancement de la décennie numérique, faisant une revue des avancées européennes dans le domaine numérique, en lien avec les objectifs de 2030. Le rapport contient des recommandations collectives et par États pour accélérer la transition numérique, notamment grâce à des investissements dans des infrastructures, des technologies et dans le développement de compétences.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Eurostat

L'inflation en baisse en septembre

2 octobre 2023

2013-02-07-13-43-00.0021.jpg
En septembre, l'inflation annuelle dans la zone euro était en baisse par rapport au mois précédent, à 4,3 % , selon l'estimation rapide publiée par Eurostat le 29 septembre.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Culture

Exposition "Flower Power" à Giverny

2 octobre 2023

2023-10-02-13-31-53.5033.png
Jusqu'au 7 janvier 2024, le musée des impressionnismes de Giverny présente une exposition interdisciplinaire sur l'histoire des fleurs s'intitulant "Flower Power". Comprenant des œuvres de grands artistes, l'exposition explore non seulement la fonction esthétique du motif floral, mais aussi son rôle politique, religieux ou encore scientifique.

Lire la suite

Concert au Camp des Milles à Aix-en-Provence

2 octobre 2023

2023-10-02-13-34-31.5214.png
Le site-mémorial du Camp des Milles, ancien camp de déportation à Aix-en-Provence, organise un concert-événement le 5 octobre à 19h30. Il s'agit d'un hommage en musique réalisé par l'association Forum Voix Étouffées, dont l'objectif est de promouvoir et faire entendre la musique des compositeurs opprimés, interdits et assassinés par les régimes totalitaires, et en l'occurrence le nazisme.

Lire la suite

Festival international du film à Varsovie

2 octobre 2023

2023-10-02-13-33-24.6113.jpg
Du 6 au 15 octobre, le festival du film à Varsovie rassemble des réalisateurs de la scène internationale, introduisant les spectateurs à des films indépendants issus de nombreuses aires culturelles.

Lire la suite

Frans Hals à Londres

2 octobre 2023

2023-10-02-13-28-06.8926.png
Jusqu'au 21 janvier 2024 , les œuvres du peintre baroque néerlandais Frans Hals sont exposées à la National Gallery de Londres. Parmi la cinquantaine de ses œuvres rassemblées figure "Le Cavalier Rieur" (1624), issu de la collection Wallace et prêté pour la première fois, à titre exceptionnel.

Lire la suite

Femmes artistes à Münich

2 octobre 2023

2023-10-02-13-30-27.1417.png
La maison de l'art de Munich présente jusqu'au 10 mars 2024 l'exposition "Inside Other Spaces. Environments by Women Artists 1956-1976", qui met en avant le travail de onze artistes féminines couvrant trois générations, originaires d'Europe, d'Asie, et d'Amérique. L'exposition permet de plonger au cœur des "expériences", œuvres au caractère immersif et non-conventionnel à la jonction entre l'art et le design.

Lire la suite

Festival du film méditerranéen à Bastia

2 octobre 2023

2023-10-02-13-22-57.1936.jpg
Le festival du film Arte Mare se déroule jusqu'au 7 octobre à Bastia. Il consacre sa programmation à des films de culture méditerranéenne.

Lire la suite

Le Greco à Santander et Picasso à Madrid

2 octobre 2023

es-oee-1.jpg
Jusqu'au 11 février 2024,a lieu une exposition vivante au Centre Botín à Santander,. L'artiste plasticien germano-britannique, Tino Sehgal, confronte son œuvre au célèbre tableau du Gréco, "L'adoration des bergers". L'exposition, Picasso : le Sacré et le Profane, est organisée jusqu'au 14 janvier 2024 au musée Thyssen-Bornemisza à Madrid. Elle met en exergue l'approche par le peintre des rites païens et de l'héritage du sacramentel à travers différentes allégories chrétiennes.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Exposition Jasper Johns à Bâle

2 octobre 2023

2023-10-02-13-25-17.6297.png
Le musée d'Art de Bâle présente une exposition s'intitulant "Jasper Johns - un collectionneur d'art", jusqu'au 4 février 2024. Artiste peintre reconnu, Jasper Johns mena parallèlement une carrière de collectionneur, en accumulant des toiles de Paul Cézanne, Pablo Picasso ou Willem de Kooning. L'exposition donne à voir la grande diversité et l'originalité des œuvres collectionnées par Johns.

Lire la suite

Prix Nobel

Prix Nobel de médecine

2 octobre 2023

2014-10-13-15-13-13.3303.jpg
Le Prix Nobel de médecine a été attribué le 2 octobre à la Hongroise Katalin Kariko et l'Américain Drew Weissman pour leur rôle dans le développement des vaccins ARNm, utilisés notamment contre le Covid-19.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Agenda

les 2-5 octobre 2023

Session plénière du Parlement européen (Strasbourg)


5 octobre 2023

Réunion de la Communauté politique européenne (Grenade)


6 octobre 2023

Réunion des chefs d'Etat et de gouvernement de l'Union (Grenade)


8 octobre 2023

Élections législatives (Luxembourg)


9 octobre 2023

Conseil Emploi, politique sociale, santé et consommateurs (Bruxelles)


Les archives de la lettre

La Défense de l'Europe par les Européens : un mythe, une nécessité, une ambition, un espoir ?

Les BRICS, un enjeu géopolitique ignoré de l'Union européenne

L'aspiration européenne des Ukrainiens

La crise allemande du Schuldenbremse : un symptôme à prendre au sérieux en Europe

Une nouvelle architecture de sécurité européenne

Les rédacteurs de la Lettre :
Stefanie Buzmaniuk, Helen Levy, Louis Brand, Mila Shay, Romane Wanner, Loup Panteix

N°ISSN : 2729-6482

Rédacteur en chef :
Eric Maurice

Directeur de la publication :
Pascale Joannin

Une question, une suggestion ?
Contactez nous !

info@robert-schuman.eu

La Moldavie, terre de mission de partenariat de l'Union européenne

pdf

La lettre n°1038- version du 2 oct. 2023