The Newsletter78120 nov. 2017

La Lettre

Jérôme Gazzano, Andi Mustafaj

20 November 2017

After six rounds of discussion, the first stage of negotiations is still not sufficiently complete to justify moving on to the next stages. However, in the quest for a Brexit that is both symbolic and beneficial for the UK, British negotiators are pushing to accelerate negotiations.

Read more

Foundation

Which European policy for France and Germany?

19 November 2017

frs.jpg
On 22nd November the Pierre Werner Institute is organising a debate on the French and German European Policies with Jean-Dominique Giuliani, the Foundation's Chairman, and Frank Baasner, Director of the Franco-German Institute of Ludwigsburg, at the Neumünster Abbey in Luxembourg.

Read more

Forum on internal security issues

19 November 2017

On 23rd November a conference on the European migratory policy is taking place in Prague as part of the internal security forum in which Charles de Marcilly, the manager of the Foundation's Brussels office is taking part.

Read more

Financial Crisis

Euro zone: the European Stability Mechanism prepared to play a central role

19 November 2017

crisefinanciere.jpg
In his speech at the Collège d'Europe on 14th November Klaus Regling, the Managing Director of the European Stability Mechanism (ESM) suggested that the ESM might ensure the role of guarantor for banks in difficulty in the euro zone. The European Commission is due to put a plan forward on 6th December that targets a vast reform of the euro zone.

Read more -another link

Commission

European Education Area by 2025

19 November 2017

commission1.jpg
On 14th November the European Commission presented its plan to finalise the creation of a European Education Area by 2025. Mobility will be encouraged thanks to the introduction of an EU student card, greater recognition of diplomas via the revision of the Bologna system. The learning of languages will be improved thanks to a new reference criteria and an action plan in support of on line teaching will be introduced.

Read more

Reports on Romania and Bulgaria

19 November 2017

On 15th November the Commission published its reports on the measures taken by Romania and Bulgaria in terms of keeping their commitments to reform the judicial system and to counter corruption. The demands made by the Commission have not yet been fulfilled satisfactorily, in spite of some "progress" - the Commission is still concerned about the challenge of the "judiciary's independence."

Read more -another link

10th Meeting on Competition Policy between the EU and China

19 November 2017

The 10th dialogue meeting on competition policy between the EU and China took place on 15th November. The European Commission and the three Chinese authorities responsible for competition confirmed that they were prepared to step up cooperation in terms of implementing their respective competition legislation, notably in the area of disloyal practices, monopolies and State aid.

Read more -another link

Progress Report on the European Agenda in terms of Migration

19 November 2017

On 15th November the European Commission published a progress report on the follow-up regarding migration. It indicates a 63% reduction in the total number of illegal border crossings registered along the main migratory routes in 2017.

Read more -another link

Parliament

e-Commerce: greater protection against fraudsters

19 November 2017

parlement.jpg
On 14th November the European Parliament stepped up protection against e-commerce fraudsters. Hence the national authorities will have greater power to prevent on-line scams and fraud.

Read more

Strengthening European Trade Defence

19 November 2017

On 15th November MEPs adopted some anti-dumping rules to protect the Union's jobs and industry. The modernisation of the trade defence instruments aims to counter social and environmental and manufactured goods dumping.

Read more

Resolutions on the rule of law in Poland and Malta

19 November 2017

MEPs deemed on 15th November that the situation in Poland presented a "clear risk of serious breach" of European values, including the rule of law. They asked the Council to trigger the mechanism provided for in article 7 of the TEU. They also demanded the Commission "establish dialogue with the Maltese government on the functioning of the rule of law in Malta". Regarding Poland, the Foundation has just published a detailed study of this question.

Read more -another link -another link

Eastern Partnership: rewarding the progress achieved

19 November 2017

In view of the Eastern Partnership Summit on 24th November MEPS made some recommendations on 15th November.

Read more

Council

Conclusions of the Council "European Economic Area"

19 November 2017

conseilparlement.jpg
The 48th session of the European Economic Area that was held on 14th November was preceded by an informal political dialogue with the EFTA States, which are also EEA members. Discussions mainly focused on the consequences of the UK's withdrawal from the EU on the EEA agreement and on the Eastern Partnership.

Read more -another link -another link

Results of the Ministers' Meeting on the Cohesion Policy

19 November 2017

On 15th November the 28 European Affairs Ministers discussed the future of the Cohesion Policy after 2020 and adopted - without debate - conclusions on the synergies and the simplification of this policy.

Read more

Agreement on the 2018 budget

19 November 2017

On 18th November the Council and the European Parliament came to agreement over the European budget for 2018. The commitment payments total 160.1 billion € and payments 144.7 billion €.

Read more -another link

European Solidarity Corps

20 November 2017

Ministers adopted a general approach regarding the European Solidarity Corps on 20th November in view of providing it with a legal Framework. The Corps will be open to anyone aged 18 to 30 from the EU, the EEA, EFTA countries and to those targeted by a European Neighbourhood Policy. This should provide many opportunities such as volunteer work, training and even solidarity projects.

Read more -another link

Cyber-security, capital markets union and Schengen Information System

20 November 2017

On 20th November Ministers called for a strengthening of European cybersecurity, whilst cyberattacks are leading to world losses estimated at "400 billion euro per year". They also adopted the regulation on an entry/exit system and the regulation modifying the Schengen border code. The Council adopted rules that aim to facilitate the development of a securitisation market in Europe.

Read more -another link -another link -another link

Germany

German President FW Steinmeier calls on the political responsibility of all parties

21 November 2017

allemagne.jpg
The leader of the Liberal Democrats (FDP) Christian Lindner announced in the night of 19th to 20th November the withdrawal of his party from discussions concluding: "it is better not to govern at all than to govern badly." President Frank Walter Steinmeier reminded all parties of their responsibility. "I am expecting that everyone will be ready to discuss, to make a government possible as quickly as possible.'

Read more

Austria

Elisabeth Köstinger takes over as leader of the Austrian National Assembly

19 November 2017

autriche.jpg
Elisabeth Köstinger became the new president of the Austrian National Council, the lower house of parliament. Aged 38 she has been MEP since 2009. The Nationalrat comprises 63 women MPs, i.e. 34.4%.

Read more

France

Meeting between the French and British Home Affairs Ministers

19 November 2017

france.jpg
Gérard Collomb, the French Interior Minister travelled to London on 16th November to attend a weekly security meeting chaired by his British counterpart Amber Rudd and to address internal security issues, notably regarding joint efforts to counter terrorism, illegal immigration, securing the borders, as well as organised crime.

Read more

Greece

Report by the European Stability Mechanism on Greece

19 November 2017

grece.jpg
On 13th November the European Commission published a report by the European Stability Mechanism on Greece. This comprises a basic analysis of the design of a support programme to the stability of the ESM in August 2015 for Greece and the implementation of the programme until the conclusion of the second review in July.

Read more

Alexis Tsipras announces social measures totalling 1.4 billion €

19 November 2017

Greek Prime Minister, Alexis Tsipras announced social support measures on 13th November to a total of 1.4 billion € to help the "popular classes". 720 million € will be paid in the shape of exceptional aid to people whose annual revenues are not over 18,000 € per year, ie 3.4 million people. 315 million will be given a reimbursement of healthcare spending that was levied on small pensions. Finally, the indebted state owned electricity company, DEI, will receive 360 million € to subsidise reduced tarifs for the most vulnerable.

Read more -another link

Lithuania

Lithuania adopts the so-called Magnitski law

19 November 2017

lituanie.jpg
Lithuanian MPs adopted on 16th November a law 91 votes in support, banning for a maximum of five years access to its territory by Russians, who it seems have committed serious crimes, attacked human rights or freedoms, or who have been involved in corruption or money laundering scandals.

Read more -another link

UK

British economy could lose 25 billion by 2030

19 November 2017

royaume-uni.jpg
The auditors' consultancy PricewaterhouseCoopers has published a study entitled "UK Economic Outlook" that analyses the economic outlook of the UK post-Brexit, the challenge of productivity and migration. It emerges that the UK might lose up to 25 billion € by 2030, Moreover the study forecasts a slowing of growth that would decrease from 1.8% in 2016 to around 1.5% in 2017 and 1.4% in 2018.

Read more

Vote on the Withdrawal Bill

19 November 2017

On 14th November the British government just won a first round in the House of COmmons regarding the draft bill on the withdrawal from European legislation called the "Withdrawal Bill".

Read more -another link

Sweden

Social Summit for Fair Jobs and Growth

19 November 2017

suede.jpg
On 17th November Swedish Prime Minister Stefan Löfven hosted the heads of State and government for a Social Summit in Göteborg. They jointly proclaimed the European Pillar of Social Rights. This proclamation re-iterates the common commitment to defend and safeguard the 20 principles and rights which are part of the pillar.

Read more -another link

Albania

EU-Albania: ninth Stabilisation and Association Council

19 November 2017

albanie.jpg
During its ninth meeting on 15th November the EU-Albania Stabilisation and Association Council welcomed the progress achieved by Albania in view of joining the Union in the future inviting the country to continue reforming its justice system.

Read more

Kosovo

2nd Meeting of the EU-Kosovo Stabilisation and Association Council

19 November 2017

kosovo.jpg
During its second meeting on 17th November the EU-Kosovo Stabilisation and Association Council revised the state of relations and the development of the situation in Kosovo.

Read more

Serbia

EU-Serbia: fourth Stabilisation and Association Council

19 November 2017

serbie.jpg
During its fourth meeting on 16th November the EU-Serbia Stabilisation and Association Council highlighted the progress achieved by Serbia in view of joining the Union in the future. The Council notably welcomed the smooth running of the Presidential election on 2nd April last and the opening of internal dialogue over Kosovo.

Read more

UN

Review of the 23rd conference on the climate

19 November 2017

diplomatie.jpg
The 23rd Conference on the Climate (COP23) ended on 17th November in Bonn. The countries set themselves the task of drawing up a collective review of greenhouse gas emissions by the end of 2018 and to assess the work that still to be done if the world is to remain below the threshold of a 2° rise in temperatures as stipulated in the Paris Agreement.

Read more -another link

Eurostat

GDP increase of 0.6% in the 3rd quarter

19 November 2017

eurostat.jpg
The EU's GDP and that of the euro zone rose by 0.6% in the third quarter in comparison with the previous quarter announced Eurostat on 14th November.

Read more

Goods trade in surplus

19 November 2017

On 15th November Eurostat published the September figures of the international goods trade in the euro zone, revealing a 3.1 billion euro surplus in EU28 and a 26.4 billion euro surplus in the euro zone.

Read more

Annual inflation down

19 November 2017

According to Eurostat the annual inflation rate in the EU lay at 1.7% in October 2017 against 1.8% the previous month. In the euro zone the annual inflation rate dropped from 1.5% to 1.4% between September and October 2017.

Read more

Studies/Reports

Assessment of the progress achieved by Ukraine

19 November 2017

etudes.jpg
The European Commission and the European External Action Service (EEAS) published a report on 15th November on Ukraine. Although both of these institutions welcome the implementation of a certain number of reforms defined in its association programme in 2017, it is however urgent to accelerate work in order to effect real change in the country.

Read more -another link

European Budgetary Committee Report

19 November 2017

In a report published on 15th November, the European Budgetary Committee, an independent body created by the Commission deems that budgetary procedures must be simplified.

Read more -another link

Airbus: record contract of nearly 50 billion $ with Indigo Partners

19 November 2017

On 15th November at the Dubai Airshow, Airbus announced that it had signed the biggest contract in the sector's history. The European aircraft manufacturer sold 430 320 Neo aircraft to the American company Indigo to a total of 42 billion €.

Read more -another link

Culture

Peru before the Incas

19 November 2017

culture.jpg
The Museum on the Quai Branly - Jacques Chirac in Paris is hosting an exhibition until 1st April 2018 entitled "Peru before the Incas", which offers visitors a view of the origins and organisation of power in these ancient societies and in the vaster pre-Hispanic empire.

Read more

Mariano Fortuny Retrospective at the Prado Museum

19 November 2017

From 21st November 2017 to 18th March 2018, the Prado Museum is organising the first retrospective of the Spanish painter Mariano Fortuny y Marsal (1838-1874), who was an innovator in many areas.

Read more

Modigliani at the Tate Modern

19 November 2017

From 23rd November 2017 to 2nd April 2018 the Tate Modern in London is running an exhibition on Modigliani, notably his unknown sculptures as well as some portraits.

Read more

Propaganda during the Great War

19 November 2017

As part of the commemoration of the hundred years of the battle of Cambrai - described in the "Storm of Steel" by Ernst Jünger - the Fine Arts Museum of Cambrai is running an exhibition from 22nd November 2017 to 12th February on the role of the picture during the war "Mobilising minds: propaganda during the Great War."

Read more

Transmission Festival in Prague

19 November 2017

The 12th Transmission Festival in Prague takes place on 25th November. For a whole night the public will be able to see films, light and laser shows as well as fireworks and listen to electro music.

Read more

"Sami Blood" wins the Lux Prize 2017

19 November 2017

The Swedish drama "Sami Blood" by Amanda Kernell that relates the fight in the 1930's of a Swedish Sami teenager against racism and discrimination that struck her people won the European Parliament's Lux Prize on 14th November.

Read more

Turin Film Festival

19 November 2017

The Italian town of Turin is organising its film festival from 24th November to 2nd December. The avant-garde and works by young film makers will form the heart of this 35th edition.

Read more

Agenda

20th and 21st November

"Education, Youth, Culture and Sport" Council (Brussels)


20th November

"General Affairs" Council (Brussels)


20th and 21st November

ASEAN Foreign Affairs Ministers' Meeting (Myanmar)


24th November

Eastern Partnership Summit (Tallinn)


Newsletter Archives

The European Union enlarged from 27 to 36 members? Towards an "Agenda 2030

Sino-Russian Relations in a Geopolitical Europe

Some little-known effects of global warming

Agriculture: an adjustment variable in trade agreements?

2024, a European political year - through the eyes of women

The Editors of the Newsletter :
Charles de Marcilly, Helen Levy ,Vincent Le Méau, Aurélien Pastouret, Félicia Schröder,Romain Vadans, Jean-Baptiste Welschinger

N°ISSN : 2729-6482

Editor-in-Chief :
Eric Maurice

Director of Publication :
Pascale Joannin

Any questions or suggestions?
Contact Us!

info@robert-schuman.eu

Adoption of the 2018 budget, the last before Brexit ....

pdf

The Newsletter n°781- version of 20 nov. 2017

La lettre78120 nov. 2017

La Lettre

Jérôme Gazzano, Andi Mustafaj

20 novembre 2017

À l'issue de 6 rounds, la première phase de négociation n'est toujours pas suffisamment aboutie pour justifier de passer aux étapes suivantes. Pourtant, dans la recherche d'un Brexit à la fois symbolique et bénéfique pour le Royaume-Uni, les négociateurs britanniques poussent à l'accélération des négociations

Lire la suite

Fondation

Quelle politique européenne pour la France et l'Allemagne ?

19 novembre 2017

frs.jpg
Le 22 novembre, l'Institut Pierre Werner organise un débat sur les politiques européennes française et allemande avec Jean-Dominique Giuliani, Président de la Fondation, et Frank Baasner, directeur de l'institut franco-allemand de Ludwigsburg, à l'abbaye de Neumünster de Luxembourg.

Lire la suite

Comment défendre les intérêts français et européens dans le commerce mondial ?

20 novembre 2017

Euralia organise le 22 novembre un petit-déjeuner sur le thème du libre-échange face au repli nationaliste en Europe. Thierry Chopin, directeur des études de la Fondation, anime ce débat.

Lire la suite

Forum sur les enjeux de sécurité intérieure

19 novembre 2017

Le 23 novembre se tient à Prague une conférence dans le cadre du Forum de la sécurité intérieure à laquelle participe Charles de Marcilly, responsable du bureau de Bruxelles de la Fondation, sur la politique migratoire européenne.

Lire la suite

Le Prix de la démocratie 2017 remis au Parlement Européen des Jeunes

20 novembre 2017

Le Prix de la Démocratie de l'Institut Marc Sangnier récompense les efforts entrepris pour impliquer davantage les citoyens dans la vie publique et le processus démocratique. Le Prix 2017 a été décerné, le 16 novembre, au Parlement Européen des Jeunes.

Lire la suite

Crise financière

Zone euro : le Mécanisme européen de stabilité prêt à jouer un rôle central

19 novembre 2017

crisefinanciere.jpg
Dans son discours au Collège d'Europe le 14 novembre, Klaus Regling, directeur général du Mécanisme européen de stabilité (MES), a proposé que le MES assure à l'avenir un rôle de garant des banques en difficulté de la zone euro. La Commission européenne doit proposer le 6 décembre un plan visant à une réforme de la zone euro.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Commission

Espace européen de l'éducation d'ici 2025

19 novembre 2017

commission1.jpg
La Commission européenne a présenté le 14 novembre son plan afin d'aboutir à la création d'un espace européen de l'éducation d'ici 2025. La mobilité sera encouragée grâce à la mise en place d'une carte d'étudiant de l'UE, la reconnaissance des diplômes renforcée par la refonte du système de Bologne. L'apprentissage des langues sera amélioré grâce à un nouveau critère de référence, et un plan d'action en faveur de l'enseignement numérique sera mis en place.

Lire la suite

Rapports sur la Roumanie et la Bulgarie

19 novembre 2017

La Commission a publié, le 15 novembre, ses rapports sur les mesures prises par la Roumanie et la Bulgarie pour tenir leurs engagements en matière de réforme du système judiciaire et de lutte contre la corruption. Les exigences de la Commission n'ont pas encore été "remplies de manière satisfaisante" malgré certains "progrès", celle-ci restant préoccupée par la remise en cause de "l'indépendance judiciaire".

Lire la suite -autre lien

10e réunion sur la politique de concurrence entre l'Union européenne et la Chine

19 novembre 2017

La 10e réunion du dialogue sur la politique de concurrence entre l'Union européenne et la Chine s'est tenue le 15 novembre. La Commission européenne et les trois autorités chinoises chargées de la concurrence ont confirmé qu'elles étaient disposées à renforcer leur coopération en matière de mise en œuvre de leurs législations de concurrence respectives, notamment dans le domaine des pratiques anticoncurrentielles, des concentrations et des aides d'État.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Rapport d'avancement sur l'agenda européen en matière de migration.

19 novembre 2017

Le 15 novembre la Commission européenne a publié un rapport d'avancement sur l'agenda du suivi des questions de migrations. Il indique une diminution de 63 % du nombre total de passages irréguliers recensés le long des principales routes migratoires en 2017.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Parlement

Commerce en ligne : une protection contre les fraudeurs renforcée

19 novembre 2017

parlement.jpg
Le 14 novembre, les députés européens ont renforcé la protection contre les fraudeurs dans le cadre du commerce en ligne. Ainsi, les autorités nationales disposeront d'un plus grand pouvoir pour arrêter les escroqueries et fraudes en ligne.

Lire la suite

Renforcement de la défense commerciale européenne

19 novembre 2017

Les députés européens ont adopté le 15 novembre des règles antidumping afin de protéger l'emploi et l'industrie de l'Union. Cette modernisation des instruments de défense commerciale vise à combattre le dumping social et environnemental et à contrer les importations faisant l'objet d'un dumping.

Lire la suite

Résolutions sur l'état de droit en Pologne et à Malte

19 novembre 2017

Les députés européens ont estimé, le 15 novembre, que la situation en Pologne présentait un "risque manifeste de violation grave" des valeurs européennes, dont l'Etat de droit. Ils demandent que le Conseil active le mécanisme prévu par l'article 7 TUE. Ils ont aussi exhorté la Commission à ''établir un dialogue avec le gouvernement maltais sur le fonctionnement de l'Etat de droit à Malte''. Sur la Pologne, la Fondation vient de publier une étude détaillée.

Lire la suite -autre lien -autre lien

Partenariat oriental : récompenser les progrès réalisés

19 novembre 2017

Dans la perspective du sommet sur le partenariat oriental le 24 novembre, les députés européens ont fait des recommandations le 15 novembre.

Lire la suite

Conseil

Conclusions de la réunion avec les pays de l'Espace économique européen

19 novembre 2017

conseilparlement.jpg
La session du 48e Conseil de l'Espace économique européen le 14 novembre était précédée par un dialogue politique informel avec les États de l'AELE également membres de l'EEE. Les discussions ont porté sur les retombées du retrait du Royaume-Uni, la coopération dans le domaine de l'économie des données et le partenariat oriental.

Lire la suite -autre lien -autre lien

Résultats de la réunion des ministres sur la politique de cohésion

19 novembre 2017

Les 28 ministres des affaires européennes ont discuté le 15 novembre de l'avenir de la politique de cohésion après 2020 et adopté, sans débat, des conclusions sur les synergies et la simplification de cette politique.

Lire la suite

Accord sur le budget 2018

19 novembre 2017

Le 18 novembre, le Conseil et le Parlement européen ont trouvé un accord pour le budget européen de 2018. Les crédits d'engagements sont de 160.1 milliard € et ceux de paiements de 144.7 milliard €.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Corps européen de solidarité

20 novembre 2017

Les ministres ont adopté une approche générale sur le Corps européen de solidarité le 20 novembre, en vue de lui donner un cadre légal. Le Corps sera ouvert aux personnes âgées de 18 à 30 ans en provenance de l'UE, des pays de l'EEE, de l'AELE, et ceux visés par la politique européenne de voisinage. Il devrait fournir de nombreuses opportunités comme du volontariat, des stages ou encore des projets de solidarité.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Cyber-sécurité, union des marchés de capitaux et système d'information Schengen

20 novembre 2017

Les ministres ont appelé, le 20 novembre, à renforcer la cybersécurité européenne, alors que les cyberattaques entraînent des pertes mondiales chiffrées à "400 milliards € par an". Ils ont également adopté le règlement relatif à un système d'entrée/de sortie et le règlement modifiant le code frontières Schengen. Le Conseil a enfin adopté des règles visant à faciliter le développement d'un marché de la titrisation en Europe.

Lire la suite -autre lien -autre lien -autre lien

Allemagne

Le président allemand FW Steinmeier appelle à la responsabilité politique de tous les partis

21 novembre 2017

allemagne.jpg
Le chef des libéraux-démocrates (FDP) , Christian Lindner, a annoncé dans la nuit du 19 au 20 novembre le retrait de son parti des pourparlers, concluant: "Mieux vaut ne pas gouverner que mal gouverner." Le Président allemand Frank-Walter Steinmeier a rappelé aux partis leur responsabilité "J'attends à ce que tout le monde soit prêt à discuter, pour rendre possible un gouvernement le plus rapidement possible."

Lire la suite

Autriche

Elisabeth Köstinger prend la tête de l'Assemblée nationale autrichienne

19 novembre 2017

autriche.jpg
Elisabeth Köstinger est devenue la nouvelle présidente du Conseil national autrichien, la chambre basse du Parlement. Âgée de 38 ans, elle était députée européenne depuis 2009. Le Nationalrat compte 63 députées femmes, soit 34.4%.

Lire la suite

France

Rencontre entre les ministres français et britannique de l'Intérieur

19 novembre 2017

france.jpg
Gérard Collomb, ministre français de l'Intérieur, s'est rendu à Londres le 16 novembre pour assister à la réunion hebdomadaire de sécurité, présidée par son homologue britannique Amber Rudd et aborder les sujets de sécurité intérieure, dont notamment les efforts communs entrepris pour lutter contre le terrorisme, l'immigration irrégulière, la sécurisation des frontières, ainsi que la criminalité organisée.

Lire la suite

Grèce

Rapport du Mécanisme européen de stabilité sur la Grèce

19 novembre 2017

grece.jpg
Le 13 novembre la Commission européenne a publié un rapport du Mécanisme européen de stabilité sur la Grèce. Celui-ci contient une analyse relative à la conception du programme de soutien en août 2015 et à la mise en œuvre du programme jusqu'en juillet 2017.

Lire la suite

Alexis Tsipras annonce des mesures sociales de 1,4 milliard €

19 novembre 2017

Le Premier ministre grec, Alexis Tsipras, a annoncé le 13 novembre des mesures de soutien social d'un montant de 1,4 milliard € en faveur des "couches populaires". 720 millions seront versés sous forme d'aides exceptionnelles aux personnes dont les revenus annuels ne dépassent pas 18.000 € par an, soit 3,4 millions de personnes. 315 millions seront affectés au remboursement de dépenses de santé imposées aux petits retraités. Enfin, l'entreprise publique surendettée d'électricité, DEI, recevra 360 millions pour subventionner les tarifs favorables accordés aux plus vulnérables.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Lituanie

La Lituanie adopte la loi dite Magnitski

19 novembre 2017

lituanie.jpg
Les députés lituaniens ont adopté le 16 novembre une loi par 91 voix interdisant pendant cinq ans maximum l'accès à son territoire aux Russes dont il y a des motifs sérieux de penser qu'ils ont commis un crime grave contre une personne, ont attenté aux droits humains ou aux libertés, ont été impliqués dans des affaires de corruption ou de blanchiment d'argent.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Royaume-Uni

L'économie britannique pourrait perdre 25 milliards € d'ici 2030

19 novembre 2017

royaume-uni.jpg
Le cabinet d'audit et de conseil PricewaterhouseCoopers a publié une étude intitulé "UK Economic Outlook" qui analyse les perspectives post-Brexit de l'économie, du défi de la productivité et de la migration. Il en ressort que le Royaume-Uni pourrait perdre jusqu'à 25 milliards d'euros d'ici 2030. L'étude prévoit un ralentissement de la croissance qui passerait de 1,8 % en 2016 à environ 1,5 % en 2017 et 1,4 % en 2018.

Lire la suite

Vote de la loi de retrait (Withdrawal Bill")

19 novembre 2017

Le 14 novembre, le gouvernement britannique a remporté de justesse une première manche à la Chambre des Communes concernant le projet de loi de retrait de la législation européenne appelée "Withdrawal Bill".

Lire la suite -autre lien

Suède

Sommet social pour des emplois et une croissance équitables

19 novembre 2017

suede.jpg
Le 17 novembre, le Premier ministre suédois, Stefan Löfven, a accueilli les chefs d'État ou de gouvernement pour un sommet social à Göteborg,. Ils ont proclamé conjointement le socle européen des droits sociaux. Cette proclamation réaffirme l'engagement commun à défendre et à sauvegarder les 20 principes et droits consacrés dans le socle.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Albanie

9e Conseil de stabilisation et d'association

19 novembre 2017

albanie.jpg
Lors de la neuvième réunion le 15 novembre, le Conseil de stabilisation et d'association UE-Albanie a salué les progrès réalisés par l'Albanie en vue d'une adhésion future à l'Union l'invitant à poursuivre la mise en œuvre de la réforme de la justice.

Lire la suite

Kosovo

2e réunion du Conseil de stabilisation et d'association UE-Kosovo

19 novembre 2017

kosovo.jpg
Lors de sa deuxième réunion le 17 novembre, le Conseil de stabilisation et d'association UE-Kosovo a fait le point sur l'état des relations et sur l'évolution de la situation au Kosovo.

Lire la suite

Serbie

4e Conseil de stabilisation et d'association

19 novembre 2017

serbie.jpg
Lors de sa quatrième réunion tenue le 16 novembre, le Conseil de stabilisation et d'association UE-Serbie a souligné les progrès réalisés par la Serbie en vue d'une adhésion future à l'Union notamment le bon déroulement de l'élection présidentielle du 2 avril dernier et l'ouverture d'un dialogue interne sur le Kosovo.

Lire la suite

ONU

Bilan de la 23e conférence sur le climat

19 novembre 2017

diplomatie.jpg
La 23e conférence sur le climat de l'ONU (COP23) s'est terminée le 17 novembre à Bonn. Les pays se sont donné la mission de dresser un bilan collectif des émissions de gaz à effet de serre d'ici fin 2018 et d'évaluer le chemin qu'il leur reste à accomplir si le monde veut rester sous le seuil de 2° de réchauffement comme le stipule l'accord de Paris.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Eurostat

Hausse du PIB confirmée à 0,6% au 3e trimestre

19 novembre 2017

eurostat.jpg
Le Produit intérieur brut (PIB) de l'Union européenne et celui de la zone euro ont progressé de 0,6% au troisième trimestre par rapport au trimestre précédent, a indiqué le 14 novembre l'Office européen de statistiques Eurostat.

Lire la suite

Le commerce des biens en excédent

19 novembre 2017

Eurostat a publié le 15 novembre les chiffres de septembre du commerce international des biens en septembre 2017 qui révèlent un l'excédent de 3,1 milliards € pour l'Union européenne.et de 26,4 milliards pour la zone euro.

Lire la suite

Le taux d'inflation annuel en baisse

19 novembre 2017

Selon Eurostat, le taux d'inflation annuel dans l'UE s'est établi à 1.7% en octobre 2017, contre 1.8% le mois précédent. Dans la zone euro, le taux d'inflation annuel a baissé d'1.5% à 1.4% entre septembre et octobre 2017.

Lire la suite

Etudes/Rapports

Evaluation des progrès réalisés par l'Ukraine

19 novembre 2017

etudes.jpg
La Commission européenne et le Service diplomatique (SEAE) ont publié un rapport le 15 novembre sur l'Ukraine. S'ils saluent la mise en œuvre d'un certain nombre de réformes définies dans son programme d'association en 2017, ils estiment urgent d'en accélérer la mise en oeuvre afin d'aboutir à un véritable changement dans le pays.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Rapport du comité budgétaire européen

19 novembre 2017

Le Comité budgétaire européen, organe indépendant créé par la Commission, estime que les procédures budgétaires doivent être simplifiées selon un rapport publié le 15 novembre.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Airbus décroche la plus importante commande de l'histoire

19 novembre 2017

Dans le cadre du Salon de l'aéronautique de Dubaï, Airbus a annoncé le 15 novembre avoir décroché la plus importante commande de l'histoire du secteur. Le constructeur aéronautique européen a vendu au loueur américain Indigo 430 moyen-courriers A320 Neo pour une valeur de 42 milliards €.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Publications

"La France de Macron" (La Francia di Macron)

20 novembre 2017

publications.jpg
Thierry Chopin, directeur des études à la Fondation, a contribué à l'ouvrage collectif intitulé "La France de Macron" publié en italien sous la direction de Riccardo Brizzi et Marc Lazar.

Lire la suite

Culture

Le Pérou avant les Incas

19 novembre 2017

culture.jpg
Jusqu'au 1er avril 2018, le musée du Quai Branly - Jacques Chirac à Paris accueille une exposition intitulée "le Pérou avant les Incas" qui se propose d'étudier l'origine et l'organisation du pouvoir dans ces sociétés anciennes et dans le plus vaste empire préhispanique.

Lire la suite

Rétrospective Mariano Fortuny au musée du Prado

19 novembre 2017

Du 21 novembre 2017 au 18 mars 2018 , le musée du Prado à Madrid organise la première rétrospective sur le peintre espagnol Mariano Fortuny y Marsal (1838-1874), novateur dans beaucoup de domaines.

Lire la suite

Modigliani à la Tate Modern

19 novembre 2017

Du 23 novembre 2017 au 2 avril 2018, la Tate Modern de Londres présente une exposition sur Modigliani, notamment des sculptures méconnues ainsi que des portraits.

Lire la suite

La propagande durant la Grande Guerre

19 novembre 2017

Dans le cadre des commémorations du centenaire de la bataille de Cambrai - décrite dans les Orages d'acier d'Ernst Jünger - le musée des beaux-Arts de Cambrai propose du 22 novembre 2017 au 12 février 2018 une exposition sur le rôle de l'image pendant la guerre, "La mobilisation des esprits : la propagande pendant la Grande Guerre".

Lire la suite

Festival Transmission à Prague

19 novembre 2017

La 12e édition du Festival Transmission a lieu le 25 novembre à Prague. Pendant toute la nuit, les spectateurs auront la possibilité de voir des films, des spectacles de lumière et laser ainsi que des feux d'artifices accompagnés par de la musique électro.

Lire la suite

"Sámi Blood" remporte le Prix LUX 2017

19 novembre 2017

Le film suédois "Sámi Blood", d'Amanda Kernell, qui relate le combat dans les années 1930 d'une adolescente sami face au racisme et aux discriminations frappant son peuple, a obtenu le 14 novembre le Prix Lux décerné par le Parlement européen.

Lire la suite

Festival du Film de Turin

19 novembre 2017

La ville italienne de Turin organise du 24 novembre au 2 décembre son festival du film. Le cinéma d'avant-garde et les œuvres des jeunes cinéastes seront au cœur de cette 35e édition.

Lire la suite

Agenda

les 20 et 21 novembre

Conseil "Éducation, jeunesse, culture et sport" (Bruxelles)


20 novembre

Conseil "affaires générales" (Bruxelles)


les 20 et 21 novembre

Réunion des ministres des affaires étrangères de l'ASEM (Myanmar)


24 novembre

Sommet du partenariat oriental (Tallinn)


Les archives de la lettre

La Défense de l'Europe par les Européens : un mythe, une nécessité, une ambition, un espoir ?

Les BRICS, un enjeu géopolitique ignoré de l'Union européenne

L'aspiration européenne des Ukrainiens

La crise allemande du Schuldenbremse : un symptôme à prendre au sérieux en Europe

Une nouvelle architecture de sécurité européenne

Les rédacteurs de la Lettre :
Charles de Marcilly, Helen Levy ,Vincent Le Méau, Aurélien Pastouret, Félicia Schröder,Romain Vadans, Jean-Baptiste Welschinger

N°ISSN : 2729-6482

Rédacteur en chef :
Eric Maurice

Directeur de la publication :
Pascale Joannin

Une question, une suggestion ?
Contactez nous !

info@robert-schuman.eu

Adoption du budget 2018, le dernier avant le Brexit...

pdf

La lettre n°781- version du 20 nov. 2017