The Newsletter10059 janv. 2023

La Lettre

Maxime Lefebvre

9 January 2023

With the war in Ukraine, the European Union has indeed become a liberal power that defends its values by using the tools of "hard power". But to become an active force, even a power, it must overcome several strategic, economic and political obstacles.

Read more

Elections

Nicos Christodoulides is the favourite in the first round of the Cypriot presidential elections

9 January 2023

elections.jpg
After two consecutive mandates, the outgoing Cypriot head of state, Nicos Anastasiades, of the Democratic Rally (DISY), cannot stand for re-election in the first round of the presidential elections to be held on 5 February. Former foreign minister Nicos Christodoulides is leading the polls with 39.73% of the vote, ahead of DISY chairman Averof Neophytou and Andreas Mavroyiannis supported by the Progressive Party of Workers (AKEL). A second round will be held on 12 February if none of the 14 candidates achieves an absolute majority.

Read more

Foundation

European Recovery Plans: figures and priorities

9 January 2023

frs.jpg
In response to the economic and social consequences of the Covid-19 pandemic, the European Union has set up a €672.5 billion recovery fund. At the end of December, Italy, Austria and Luxembourg submitted payment requests to the Commission after meeting a series of targets. The Foundation offers an interactive map of the plans country by country, to check the amounts and timetables.

Read more

Energy Crisis, European Measures

9 January 2023

In response to rising energy prices, Member States and the European Union have taken measures, drawn up plans to reduce consumption and developed a European gas price cap mechanism. The Foundation provides a regularly updated map of these measures.

Read more

Ukraine/Russia

Volodomyr Zelenskiyy's Speech

9 January 2023

ukrru.jpg
In a speech to the US Congress on 22 December, Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy thanked the United States for its support and asked it to intensify it. In his greetings on 31 December, he congratulated Ukrainians on their unity, tenacity and courage, and called on them to continue their struggle until victory was achieved.

Read more -another link -another link

Provision of tanks

9 January 2023

In a meeting with his Ukrainian counterpart Volodymyr Zelenskyy on 4 January, French President Emmanuel Macron announced the upcoming delivery of light battle tanks to Ukraine. On 5 January, German Chancellor Olaf Scholz and US President Joe Biden jointly announced the supply of Marder and Bradley armoured personnel carriers and Patriot air defence missiles.

Read more -another link -another link

Aid in response to disruption of the agricultural sector

9 January 2023

On 4 January, the European Union and the Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO) announced plans to fund $15.5 million in agricultural sector assistance in response to reduced agricultural production in Ukraine. It will "support the functioning, strengthening and consolidation of value chains in agriculture, fisheries and forestry" in Ukraine. For this, agricultural producers and rural households will receive grants ranging from $1,000 to $25,000.

Read more -another link

Visit by the French Minister of the Armed Forces

9 January 2023

The French Minister of the Armed Forces, Sébastien Lecornu, said on 28 December, during his first trip to Kyiv, that he wanted to work towards meeting Ukrainian military needs "for the coming weeks".

Read more

Management of the war economy

9 January 2023

Andriy Pyshnyy, Governor of the National Bank of Ukraine (NBU), spoke in Washington on 22 December about the economic impact of the Russian invasion, the challenges of maintaining banking and financial stability in wartime, and his expectations of the IMF monitoring programme.

Read more

Commission

The Single Market at 30

9 January 2023

commission1.jpg
1 January marked the 30th anniversary of the creation of the Single Market, which allows goods, services, people and capital to move freely within the European Union. According to the Commission, it brings together almost 450 million European consumers and accounts for 18% of global GDP.

Read more

The way forward for the digital decade

9 January 2023

The Digital Decade 2030 Action Plan, a monitoring and cooperation mechanism to achieve common goals for Europe's digital transformation by 2030, entered into force on 9 January. This initiative will help Member States and the Commission to jointly address gaps in Europe's digital capabilities, while guiding joint actions and large-scale investments to reap the benefits of the digital transformation.

Read more

Parliament

Procedure to waive the immunity of two MEPs

9 January 2023

parlement.jpg
The European Parliament announced on 2 January that it had launched an emergency procedure to lift the immunity of two Members of the European Parliament, following a request from the Belgian judicial authorities in the context of the corruption investigation involving Qatar. The two MEPs concerned are Andrea Cozzolino (IT, S&D) and Marc Tarabella (BE, S&D).

Read more -another link

Council

Adoption of the gas price cap mechanism

9 January 2023

conseilparlement.jpg
On 22 December, the Council formally adopted the temporary market correction mechanism to combat excessively high gas prices. It can be activated for at least 20 days if the gas price exceeds €180/MWh for three working days from 15 February 2023.

Read more

Increase in the deployment of renewable energies

9 January 2023

On 22 December, the Council definitively adopted the legislation on accelerating the deployment of renewable energies, which will facilitate the issuing of permits for new projects or for the adaptation of existing infrastructures.

Read more

Approval of the fisheries agreement with the UK

9 January 2023

The Council formally approved on 22 December the EU-UK Fisheries Agreement for 2023, which fixes the fishing rights of fishermen in the Atlantic Ocean and the North Sea and defines the total allowable catch (TAC) limit for each fish species.

Read more

Start of the Swedish Presidency

9 January 2023

Since 1 January, Sweden has held the six-month presidency of the Council, for which it has defined four priorities: security, competitiveness, the ecological and energy transition, and democratic values and the rule of law. The Swedish Presidency will be launched on 12-13 January with a visit to Kiruna by the College of Commissioners.

Read more

Covid-19: measures on flights from China

9 January 2023

Member States decided on 4 January to promote the requirement of a negative Covid-19 test for passengers on flights from China, as well as the mandatory wearing of masks during flights. They also called for the testing and sequencing of airport waste water, random testing of passengers and the promotion of vaccine sharing.

Read more -another link

Diplomacy

US subsidy scheme for commercial vehicles

9 January 2023

diplomatie.jpg
The Commission confirmed on 29 December that under the new US Inflation Reduction Act (IRA), EU companies will be able to benefit from the clean vehicle credit programme without having to change their existing business models. It reiterated the request that European producers of clean vehicles should receive similar treatment.

Read more

Ban on the import of fishery products from Cameroon

9 January 2023

On 5 January, the Commission issued a 'red card' to Cameroon, requiring Member States to refuse to import fisheries products from the country. Cameroon, which has not taken adequate restrictive measures to combat illegal, unreported and unregulated fishing, has been identified as a "non-cooperating" country.

Read more

European Agencies

Hans Leijtens apppinted director of Frontex

9 January 2023

agences-eu.jpg
The Management Board of Frontex, the European border and coast guard agency, appointed Dutchman Hans Leijtens as its new Executive Director on 20 December. Previously commander of the Royal Netherlands Military Constabulary and governor of The Hague, Hans Laijtens has also served as director general of the Dutch tax and customs administration.

Read more -another link

Croatia

Entry into Schengen and the euro zone

9 January 2023

croatie.jpg
Croatia has been part of the Schengen area since 1 January 2023, following the Council's decision of 8 December 2022 to lift land and sea border controls between the country and the other signatories of the treaty. 1 January also marked the final adoption of the single currency by Croatia, which became the twentieth member of the euro area.

Read more -another link

Ireland

Fine of 390 million € for Meta

9 January 2023

irlande.jpg
The Irish Data Protection Commission, acting on behalf of the 27 EU Member States, has fined the Meta Group €390 million for breaching the EU Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). The fine concerns two Meta entities: Facebook (€210 million) and Instagram (€180 million). While the GDPR requires all online services to obtain the "free and informed" consent of Internet users before processing their data to offer them personalised advertising, Meta modified its rules of use by making access to its services conditional on the use of users' data for advertising purposes.

Read more -another link

Slovenia

Inauguration of the new President of the Republic

9 January 2023

slovenie.jpg
The new President of Slovenia, Natasa Pirc Musar (independent), who won the presidential election on 13 November 2022, officially took office on 23 December, succeeding Borut Pahor. In her inaugural speech to Parliament, she stressed her commitment to the defence of "the rule of law, fundamental rights and the autonomy of sub-state systems", as well as to the European Union, which she defines as "a family".

Read more -another link

Sweden

Prime Minister's visit to Paris

9 January 2023

suede.jpg
Swedish Prime Minister Ulf Kristersson visited French President Emmanuel Macron on 3 January. The two leaders exchanged views on the priorities of the Swedish Council Presidency and confirmed their support for Ukraine. Emmanuel Macron reiterated his wish for Sweden to join NATO "as soon as possible". Ulf Kristersson expressed his wish to strengthen bilateral cooperation in the nuclear, defence and space sectors.

Read more -another link

Switzerland

Alain Berset, President of the Confederation in 2023

9 January 2023

suisse.jpg
Alain Berset is the President of the Swiss Confederation for the year 2023. He has been a Federal Councillor since 2012 and heads the Federal Department of Home Affairs.

Read more

Vatican

Death of Pope Emeritus Benedict XVI

9 January 2023

vatican.jpg
Pope Emeritus Benedict XVI, born Joseph Ratzinger, died on 31 December 2022 at the age of 95 in the Mater Ecclesiae monastery (Vatican). His funeral was celebrated on 5 January by Pope Francis. Benedict XVI succeeded John Paul II in 2005 and resigned in 2013.

Read more -another link

UN

100 million migrants in 2022

9 January 2023

diplomatie.jpg
The United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) announced on 28 December that 100 million migrants left their home countries in 2022, including people fleeing "conflict, violence, human rights violations and persecution", an unprecedented figure. Protracted conflicts in Ukraine, Ethiopia, Burkina Faso, Syria and Myanmar are partly responsible for the 10 million increase over 2021.

Read more -another link

Eurostat

Drop in the inflation rate in the euro zone

9 January 2023

eurostat.jpg
According to figures published by Eurostat on 6 January, the annual inflation rate in the euro area was 9.2% in December, compared with 10.1% in November. The lowest rate was recorded in Spain at 5.6%, and the highest in Latvia at 20.7%. Energy was the largest component of inflation, followed by food, alcohol and tobacco, industrial goods excluding energy and services.

Read more

Unemployment rate at a record low

9 January 2023

According to figures published on 9 January by Eurostat, the statistical office of the European Union, the seasonally adjusted unemployment rate stood at 6% in the European Union in November 2022 and at 6.5% in the euro area.

Read more

Culture

Baroque painting in Frankfurt

9 January 2023

culture.jpg
The Städel Museum in Frankfurt, in cooperation with the Prado Museum in Madrid, is devoting a new exhibition to the Italian Baroque painter Guido Reni (1575-1642) until 5 March. It includes more than 130 paintings, drawings and engravings by the artist, whose life was marked by faith and superstition.

Read more

Portraits by Vincent Peters in Milan

9 January 2023

From 12 January to 26 February, the Palazzo Reale in Milan is showing the exhibition "Timeless Time", which includes a selection of 90 black and white shots by photographer Vincent Peters. These portraits of celebrities, taken between 2001 and 2021, are marked by a use of light that defines the emotions and tells the subjects' stories.

Read more

Zofia Matuszczyk-Cygańska in Krakow

9 January 2023

The National Museum in Krakow is organising an exhibition devoted to the tapestries made by Polish artist Zofia Matuszczyk-Cygańska until 5 February. Ten works are on display, which reflect two crucial aspects of her activity in the 1950s and 1960s: work for the Artists' Cooperative "Ład" and research into weaving techniques.

Read more

Turner in Dublin

9 January 2023

The National Gallery of Ireland in Dublin is holding its annual free exhibition of watercolours by William Turner, with paintings from the Henri Vaughan collection, until 31 January.

Read more

Maurice Denis at the Orsay Museum

9 January 2023

Until 14 May, the Musée d'Orsay is devoting an exhibition to Maurice Denis: "Maurice Denis: Les Amours de Marthe". It presents his works on first love encounters, created at the very end of the 19th century, and inspired by his relationship with his future wife Marthe Meurier.

Read more

Miró's star at CaixaForum in Madrid

9 January 2023

The CaixaForum in Madrid is showing the tapestry created by Joan Miró and Josep Royo that gave rise to the Miró Star, the emblem of the bank la Caixa, from 13 January to 21 May. These two artists created seven monumental tapestries together. This one was commissioned to create the institution's brand image.

Read more -another link

Arte Kino Festival Prize

9 January 2023

The Arte Kino Festival has announced the winners of its awards. The European Audience Award went to the film Linhas Tortas by director Rita Nunes, and the Youth Jury Award to the film Summer Survivors by director Marina Kavtaradze.

Read more

Albi Jazz Festival

9 January 2023

From 14 to 22 January, the Albi Jazz Festival will take place. Six concerts are being organised in three venues in the Tarn: the Grand Théâtre in Albi, the Maison de la Musique du Cap'Découverte and the Apollo in Mazamet. At the same time, masterclasses, meetings and public rehearsals are open to the public free of charge.

Read more

Agenda

les 12-13 January 2023

Visit from the European Commission to launch the Swedish Council Presidency (Kiruna)


les 13-14 January 2023

Presidential Election (first round) (Czech Republic)


16 January 2023

Eurogroup Meeting (Brussels)


Newsletter Archives

The Defence of Europe by Europeans: a myth, a necessity, an ambition, a hope?

The BRICS, a geopolitical challenge overlooked by the European Union

Ukraine's European Aspirations

The German 'Schuldenbremse' crisis: a symptom to be taken seriously in Europe

A new security order for Europe

The Editors of the Newsletter :
Stefanie Buzmaniuk, Helen Levy ,Micol Cattana, Eléna Roux, Amandine Guérin

N°ISSN : 2729-6482

Editor-in-Chief :
Eric Maurice

Director of Publication :
Pascale Joannin

Any questions or suggestions?
Contact Us!

info@robert-schuman.eu

The European Union and the war in Ukraine: liberal power and its limits

pdf

The Newsletter n°1005- version of 9 janv. 2023

La lettre10059 janv. 2023

La Lettre

Maxime Lefebvre

9 janvier 2023

Avec la guerre en Ukraine, l'Union européenne est bien devenue une puissance libérale qui défend ses valeurs en recourant aux outils du "hard power". Mais pour devenir une force agissante, voire une puissance, elle doit surmonter plusieurs obstacles stratégiques, économiques et politiques.

Lire la suite

Elections

Nicos Christodoulides est le favori du premier tour de la présidentielle chypriote

9 janvier 2023

elections.jpg
Après deux mandats consécutifs, le chef de l'Etat chypriote sortant ,Nicos Anastasiades, du Rassemblement démocratique (DISY), ne peut plus se représenter à l'élection présidentielle dont le premier tour se tient le 5 février. L'ancien ministre des Affaires étrangères Nicos Christodoulides est en tête des intentions de vote, avec 39,73% des intentions de vote, devant le président du DISY, Averof Neophytou, et Andreas Mavroyiannis soutenu par le Parti progressiste des travailleurs (AKEL). Un 2e tour se tiendra le 12 févier si aucun des 14 candidats n'atteint la majorité absolue.

Lire la suite

Fondation

Plans de relance européens : chiffres et priorités

9 janvier 2023

frs.jpg
Afin de répondre aux conséquences économiques et sociales de la pandémie de Covid-19, l'Union européenne a mis en place un fonds de relance de 672,5 milliards €. Fin décembre, l'Italie, l'Autriche et le Luxembourg ont adressé la Commission des demandes de paiement après avoir rempli une série d'objectifs. La Fondation vous propose une carte interactive des plans pays par pays, pour en connaître les montants, les calendriers.

Lire la suite

Crise de l'énergie, les mesures européennes

9 janvier 2023

Pour faire face à l'augmentation des prix de l'énergie, les Etats membres et l'Union européenne ont pris des mesures, élaboré des plans de réduction de la consommation et élaboré un mécanisme européen de plafonnement du prix du gaz. La Fondation vous propose une carte, régulièrement actualisée, de ces mesures.

Lire la suite

Ukraine/Russie

Discours de Volodomyr Zelensky

9 janvier 2023

ukrru.jpg
Dans un discours devant le Congrès des Etats-Unis, le 22 décembre, le président ukrainien Volodymyr Zelensky a remercié les Etats-Unis pour leur soutien et leur a demandé de l'intensifier. Dans ses voeux prononcés le 31 décembre, il a félicité les Ukrainiens pour leur unité, leur ténacité et leur courage, et les a appelés à poursuivre leur combat jusqu'à la victoire.

Lire la suite -autre lien -autre lien

Fourniture de chars

9 janvier 2023

Lors d'un entretien avec son homologue ukrainien Volodymyr Zelensky, le 4 janvier, le président français Emmanuel Macron a annoncé la livraison prochaine de chars de combat légers à l'Ukraine. Le 5 janvier, le chancelier allemand Olaf Scholz et le président américain Joe Biden ont annoncé conjointement la fourniture de véhicules de transport de troupes blindés Marder et Bradley, et de missiles de défense anti-aérienne Patriot.

Lire la suite -autre lien -autre lien

Aide pour répondre aux perturbations du secteur agricole

9 janvier 2023

Le 4 janvier, l'Union européenne et l'Organisation des Nations unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture (FAO) ont annoncé leur projet consistant à financer une aide au secteur agricole de 15,5 millions de $ suite à la réduction de la production agricole en Ukraine. Elle permettra de "soutenir le fonctionnement, le renforcement et la consolidation des chaînes de valeur dans l'agriculture, la pêche et la sylviculture" en Ukraine. Pour cela, les producteurs agricoles et les ménages ruraux bénéficieront de 1.000 à 25.000 $ de subventions.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Visite du miniistre français des Armées

9 janvier 2023

Le ministre français des Armées, Sébastien Lecornu, a affirmé, le 28 décembre, lors de son premier déplacement à Kiev, vouloir travailler à répondre aux besoins militaires ukrainiens " pour les semaines à venir ".

Lire la suite

gestion économique de la guerre

9 janvier 2023

Andriy Pyshnyy, gouverneur de la Banque nationale d'Ukraine (NBU), s'est entretenu le 22 décembre à Washington de l'impact économique de l'invasion russe, des défis liés au maintien de la stabilité bancaire et financière en temps de guerre, de ses attentes vis-à-vis du programme de surveillance du FMI.

Lire la suite

Commission

Le marché unique a 30 ans

9 janvier 2023

commission1.jpg
Le 1er janvier a marqué le trentième anniversaire de la création du marché unique grâce auquel les biens, les services, les personnes et les capitaux circulent librement dans l'Union européenne. Selon la Commission, il regroupe près de 450 millions de consommateurs européens et représente 18% du PIB mondial.

Lire la suite

La voie à suivre pour la décennie numérique

9 janvier 2023

Le programme d'action pour la décennie numérique à l'horizon 2030, mécanisme de suivi et de coopération visant à atteindre des objectifs communs pour la transformation numérique de l'Europe à l'horizon 2030, est entré en vigueur le 9 janvier Cette initiative permettra aux États membres et à la Commission de combler ensemble les lacunes dans les capacités numériques de l'Europe, tout en guidant des actions communes et des investissements à grande échelle pour tirer parti des avantages de la transformation numérique.

Lire la suite

Parlement

Procédure de levée de l'immunité de deux eurodéputés

9 janvier 2023

parlement.jpg
Le Parlement européen a annoncé le 2 janvier avoir lancé une procédure d'urgence pour la levée de l'immunité de deux membres du Parlement européen, à la suite d'une demande des autorités judiciaires belges dans le cadre de l'enquête pour corruption impliquant le Qatar. Les deux députés concernés seraient Andrea Cozzolino (IT, S&D) et Marc Tarabella (BE, S&D).

Lire la suite -autre lien

Conseil

Adoption du mécanisme de plafonnement du prix du gaz

9 janvier 2023

conseilparlement.jpg
Le Conseil a formellement adopté le 22 décembre le mécanisme temporaire de correction du marché pour lutter contre les prix excessivement élevés du gaz. Il pourra être activé pendant au moins 20 jours si le prix du gaz dépasse 180€/MWh pendant trois jours ouvrables à partir du 15 février 2023.

Lire la suite

Accélération du déploiement des énergies renouvelables

9 janvier 2023

Le Conseil a définitivement adopté le 22 décembre la législation sur l'accélération du déploiement des énergies renouvelables par laquelle les procédures de délivrance de permis seront facilités pour les nouveaux projets ou pour l'adaptation des infrastructures existantes.

Lire la suite

Approbation de l'accord de pêche avec le Royaume-Uni

9 janvier 2023

Le Conseil a formellement approuvé le 22 décembre l'accord de pêche entre l'Union européenne et le Royaume-Uni pour 2023, qui fixe les droits de pêche des pêcheurs dans l'océan Atlantique et dans la mer du Nord et définit la limite du total admissible des captures (TAC) pour chaque espèce de poissons.

Lire la suite

Début de la présidence suédoise

9 janvier 2023

La Suède assume depuis le 1er janvier la présidence semestrielle du Conseil pour laquelle elle a défini quatre priorités : la sécurité, la compétitivité, la transition écologique et la transition énergétique, ainsi que les valeurs démocratiques et l'État de droit. La présidence suédoise sera lancée les 12 et 13 janvier avec la visite du collège des commissaires européens à Kiruna.

Lire la suite

Covid-19 : mesures sur les vols en provenance de Chine

9 janvier 2023

Les États membres ont décidé le 4 janvier d'encourager l'exigence d'un test Covid-19 négatif pour les passagers des vols en provenance de Chine, ainsi que le port du masque obligatoire pendant les vols. Ils préconisent également le test et le séquençage des eaux usées des aéroports, des tests aléatoires sur les passagers et la promotion du partage des vaccins.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Diplomatie

Régime de subventions américain pour les véhicules commerciaux

9 janvier 2023

diplomatie.jpg
La Commission a confirmé le 29 décembre que dans le cadre de la nouvelle loi américaine sur la réduction de l'inflation (IRA), les entreprises de l'Union européenne pourront bénéficier du programme de crédits pour véhicules propres sans avoir à modifier leurs modèles commerciaux existants. Elle a réitéré la demande que les producteurs européens de véhicules propres fassent l'objet d'un traitement similaire.

Lire la suite

Interdiction d'importation des produits de pêche en provenance du Cameroun

9 janvier 2023

La Commission a infligé le 5 janvier un "carton rouge" au Cameroun en vertu duquel les États membres devront refuser l'importation de produits de la pêche en provenance de ce pays. Le Cameroun qui n'a pas pris les mesures restrictives adéquates pour la lutte contre la pêche illicite, non déclarée et non réglementée, a été identifié comme pays "non coopérant".

Lire la suite

Agences européennes

Hans Leijtens nommé directeur de Frontex

9 janvier 2023

agences-eu.jpg
Le conseil d'administration de Frontex, l'agence européenne de garde-frontières et de garde-côtes, a nommé le 20 décembre le Néerlandais Hans Leijtens au poste de directeur exécutif. Précédemment commandant de la Maréchaussée royale des Pays-Bas et gouverneur de La Haye, Hans Laijtens a également occupé le poste de directeur général de l'administration fiscale et douanière néerlandaise.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Croatie

Entrée dans Schengen et la zone euro

9 janvier 2023

croatie.jpg
La Croatie fait partie, depuis le 1er janvier 2023, de l'espace Schengen, suite à la décision du Conseil du 8 décembre 2022 de lever les contrôles aux frontières terrestres et maritimes entre le pays et les autres signataires du traité. Le 1er janvier a aussi marqué l'adoption définitive de la monnaie unique par la Croatie, qui est devenue le vingtième membre de la zone euro.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Irlande

Amende de 390 millions € pour Meta

9 janvier 2023

irlande.jpg
La Commission irlandaise pour la protection des données, agissant pour le compte des 27 États membres de 'l'Union européenne, a infligé une amende de 390 millions € au groupe Meta pour violation du règlement européen de protection des données personnelles (RGPD). L'amende concerne deux entités de Meta : Facebook (210 millions €) et Instagram (180 millions €). Alors que le RGPD oblige tout service en ligne à recueillir le consentement "libre et éclairé" des internautes avant de traiter leurs données pour leur proposer de la publicité personnalisée, Meta a modifié ses règles d'utilisation en conditionnant l'accès à ses services à l'exploitation des données des utilisateurs à des fins publicitaires.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Slovénie

investiture de la nouvelle Présidente de la République

9 janvier 2023

slovenie.jpg
La nouvelle présidente de la Slovénie, Natasa Pirc Musar (indépendante), qui a remporté l'élection présidentielle le 13 novembre 2022, a officiellement pris ses fonctions le 23 décembre, succédant à Borut Pahor. Lors de son discours d'investiture devant le Parlement, elle a souligné son attachement à la défense de "l'État de droit, des droits fondamentaux et de l'autonomie des sous-systèmes étatiques", ainsi qu'à l'Union européenne qu'elle définit comme "une famille".

Lire la suite -autre lien

Suède

Visite du Premier ministre à Paris

9 janvier 2023

suede.jpg
Le Premier ministre suédois, Ulf Kristersson, a rendu visite au président français, Emmanuel Macron, le 3 janvier. Les deux dirigeants ont échangé sur les priorités de la présidence suédoise du Conseil et ont réaffirmé leur soutien à l'Ukraine. Emmanuel Macron a réitéré son souhait que la Suède rejoigne l'OTAN "le plus tôt possible". Ulf Kristersson a exprimé sa volonté de renforcer la coopération bilatérale dans les secteurs du nucléaire, de la défense et de l'espace.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Suisse

Alain Berset président de la Confédération en 2023

9 janvier 2023

suisse.jpg
Alain Berset est le président de la Confédération suisse pour l'année 2023. Conseiller fédéral depuis 2012, il dirige le Département fédéral de l'intérieur.

Lire la suite

Vatican

Décès du pape émérite Benoît XVI

9 janvier 2023

vatican.jpg
Le Pape émérite Benoît XVI, né Joseph Ratzinger, est décédé le 31 décembre 2022 à l'âge de 95 ans, au monastère Mater Ecclesiae (Vatican). Ses funérailles ont été célébrées le 5 janvier par le pape François. Benoît XVI avait succédé à Jean-Paul II en 2005 et avait renoncé à sa charge en 2013.

Lire la suite -autre lien

ONU

100 millions de migrants en 2022

9 janvier 2023

diplomatie.jpg
Le Haut Commissariat des Nations unies pour les réfugiés (HCR) a annoncé le 28 décembre que 100 millions de migrants ont quitté leur pays d'origine en 2022, comprenant des personnes fuyant "les conflits, la violence, les violations des droits de l'Homme et les persécutions", un chiffre sans précédent. Les conflits prolongés en Ukraine, en Éthiopie, au Burkina Faso, en Syrie et au Myanmar sont en partie responsables de cette hausse de 10 millions par rapport à l'année 2021.

Lire la suite -autre lien

publications

Combattre pour l'Ukraine

9 janvier 2023

publications.jpg
Rassemblés par Lasha Otkhmezuri dans le livre Combattre pour 'l'Ukraine publié le 4 janvier aux éditions Passés Composés, les témoignages de 10 soldats offrent plusieurs clés pour comprendre le conflit et ses conséquences. Bouleversement majeur pour l'Europe, perspective historique, question des possibles crimes de guerre, c'est une série d'informations et de réflexions inédites et éclairantes.

Lire la suite

Eurostat

Baisse de l'inflation dans la zone euro

9 janvier 2023

eurostat.jpg
Selon les chiffres publiés par Eurostat le 6 janvier, le taux d'inflation annuel dans la zone euro s'élève à 9,2% en décembre contre 10,1% en novembre. Le taux le plus faible est enregistré en Espagne avec 5,6%, et le plus élevé en Lettonie à 20,7%. L'énergie est la principale composante de l'inflation, suivie de l'alimentation, alcool et tabac, des biens industriels hors énergie et des services.

Lire la suite

Le taux de chômage a son plus bas niveau historique

9 janvier 2023

Selon des chiffres publiés le 9 janvier par Eurostat, l'office statistique de l'Union européenne, le taux de chômage corrigé des variations saisonnières s'est élevé en 6% dans l'Union européenne en novembre 2022 et à 6,5% dans la zone euro.

Lire la suite

Culture

Peinture baroque à Francfort

9 janvier 2023

culture.jpg
Le musée Städel de Francfort, en coopération avec le musée du Prado de Madrid, consacre, jusqu'au 5 mars , une exposition inédite au peintre italien baroque Guido Reni (1575–1642). Elle comprend plus de 130 tableaux, dessins et gravures réalisés par l'artiste, dont la vie a été marquée par la foi et la superstition.

Lire la suite

Portraits de Vincent Peters à Milan

9 janvier 2023

Le Palais Royal de Milan présente, du 12 janvier au 26 février, l'exposition "Timeless Time", qui comprend une sélection de 90 clichés en noir et blanc du photographe Vincent Peters. Ces portraits de célébrités, réalisés entre 2001 et 2021, sont marqués par une utilisation de la lumière qui définit les émotions et raconte l'histoire des sujets.

Lire la suite

Zofia Matuszczyk-Cygańska à Cracovie

9 janvier 2023

Le musée aational de Cracovie organise, jusqu'au 5 février, une exposition dédiée aux tapisseries réalisées par l'artiste polonaise Zofia Matuszczyk-Cygańska. 10 œuvres y sont exposées, qui témoignent de deux aspects cruciaux de son activité dans les années 1950 et 1960 : le travail pour la Coopérative d'artistes "Ład" et les recherches dans les techniques de tissage.

Lire la suite

Turner à Dublin

9 janvier 2023

La National Gallery d'Irlande à Dublin organise jusqu'au 31 janvier l'exposition annuelle gratuite d'aquarelles du peintre William Turner, avec des tableaux issus de la collection Henri Vaughan.

Lire la suite

Maurice Denis au Musée d'Orsay

9 janvier 2023

Jusqu'au 14 mai, le musée d'Orsay dédie une exposition à Maurice Denis : "Maurice Denis : Les Amours de Marthe". Elle présente ses oeuvres sur les premières rencontres amoureuses, élaborées à la toute fin du XIXème siècle, et inspirées de sa relation avec sa future femme Marthe Meurier.

Lire la suite

L'étoile de Miró au CaixaForum de Madrid

9 janvier 2023

Le CaixaForum à Madrid expose la tapisserie créée par Joan Miró et Josep Royo qui a donné naissance à l'étoile de Miró, emblème de la banque la Caixa, du 13 janvier au 21 mai. Ces deux artistes ont créé ensemble sept tapisseries monumentales. Celle-ci a été commandée pour créer l'image de marque de l'institution.

Lire la suite -autre lien

Prix du festival Arte Kino

9 janvier 2023

Le Festival Arte Kino a annoncé les gagnants de ses prix. Le Prix du Public européen a été attribué au film Linhas Tortas de la réalisatrice Rita Nunes, et le Prix du Jury jeunesse au film Summer Survivors de la réalisatrice Marina Kavtaradze.

Lire la suite

Festival de jazz d'Albi

9 janvier 2023

Du 14 au 22 janvier aura lieu le festival de jazz d'Albi. Six concerts sont organisés dans trois salles du département du Tarn : le Grand Théâtre d'Albi, la Maison de la Musique du Cap'Découverte et l'Apollo de Mazamet. En parallèle, des masterclass, des rencontres et des répétitions publiques sont accessibles gratuitement au public.

Lire la suite

Agenda

les 12-13 janvier 2023

Visite de la Commission européenne pour le lancement de la présidence suédoise du Conseil (Kiruna)


les 13-14 janvier 2023

Election présidentielle (premier tour) (République tchèque)


16 janvier 2023

Réunion de l'Eurogroupe (Bruxelles)


Les archives de la lettre

Que retenir de la loi européenne sur l'intelligente artificielle

Un "commissaire chargé des questions de défense"

L'agriculture de l'Europe et l'agriculture d'Ukraine sont complémentaires

L'adhésion de l'Ukraine à l'Union européenne apporte une valeur ajoutée et sert la justice historique

Être Européen (libre, moderne et indépendant): vu d'Europe centrale et orientale

Les rédacteurs de la Lettre :
Stefanie Buzmaniuk, Helen Levy ,Micol Cattana, Eléna Roux, Amandine Guérin

N°ISSN : 2729-6482

Rédacteur en chef :
Eric Maurice

Directeur de la publication :
Pascale Joannin

Une question, une suggestion ?
Contactez nous !

info@robert-schuman.eu

L'Union européenne face à la guerre en Ukraine : la puissance libérale et ses li...

pdf

La lettre n°1005- version du 9 janv. 2023